Educational Technology Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Educational Technology - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Education category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

    Internet Access in US Public Schools and Classrooms: 1994-2005
    This report presents data on Internet access in US public schools by school characteristics. Topics covered include the progress of public schools in connecting to the Internet, the ratio of students to instructional computers, and the ways public schools are connected to the Internet.

    Key Concepts in Education
    Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

    Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
    An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

    Teachers' Use of Educational Technology in U.S. Public Schools, 2009 First Look
    Provides national data on the availability and use of educational technology among teachers in public elementary and secondary schools during the winter and spring of 2009.

    Technology and Copyright Law : a Guidebook for the Library, Research, and Teaching Professions
    Mortensen Library Reference KF3030.1 .B533 2007 Check Status


    Dictionaries

    Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
    A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

    Dictionary of media and communication studies
    Basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. Also have 8th edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [P87.5 .W38 2000]

    Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users
    One-stop reference for developers and users.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
    Up-to-date reference work for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology.

    Encyclopedia of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status

    Encyclopedia of Education
    Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

    Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

    Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002 Check Status


    Broader Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    ABI/INFORM Complete
    Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    ERIC (Proquest)
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    ProQuest Computing
    Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.

    ProQuest Education Journals
    Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

    Proquest Science Journals
    Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

    Teacher Reference Center
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


    Broader Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    Meridian: A Middle School Computer Technologies Journal
    This ejournal is intended to demonstrate to middle school teachers the best ways of applying computer technologies to classroom teaching and learning. Publication may be infrequent.


    Broader Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Civics Online
    This well-organized site is a fine resource for K-12 teachers and students featuring primary sources related to American government and democracy. Real Player.

    Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
    Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone from children to college students to professionals organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

    Educational Technology and Mobile Learning
    Created and maintained by a dedicated group of Canadian teachers, this site offers resources, book reviews, and tools for K-12 educators working with educational technology.

    Free Technology for Teachers
    Richard Byrne's blog shares information about free resources that teachers can use in their classrooms.

    MERLOT, Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
    MERLOT is a continually growing collection of online learning materials, assignments and reviews designed to help faculty enhance instruction.

    NCIP - National Center to Improve Practice in Special Education Through Technology, Media and Materials
    Provides information, resources, and links relating to technology and special education, and on-line workshop registration information.

    The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
    Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

    UDL Connect, National Center on Universal Design for Learning
    Presented by the National Center on Universal Design for Learning, UDL Connect offers community membership, original research, and links to resources on curricular development for equal opportunities in learning.


    Broader Guides

    Ask a Librarian