Earth and General Sciences - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Science category
Sections in this category:
Career Opportunities in Science
Career Services Shelves Q147 .E33 2008
Encyclopedia of Earth
electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
Guide to Gems
Illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones.
Guide to Global Hazards
Illustrated guide to the large-scale disasters that affect life on earth.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
Identification guide to minerals, rocks, and fossils of the world.
Guide to Seashells of the World
Identification guide to seashells of the world.
Guide to the Oceans
Illustrated guide to the world's oceans and seas.
Mortensen Library Reference [Index/Absts.] TD172 .P65
Rivers of North America
Exploratory guide to the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental aspects of North America's rivers.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
Public Library of Science
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Science Resource Center
Information on the life, physical, and earth and space sciences from books, journals and reference works. Full text available.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
Search engine for the sciences and selected social sciences. Includes both web sources and citations from journals indexed by selected databases. Journal citations may include links to full text (where the Libraries subscribe) or to ordering options (credit card required) for full text.
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Sections in this category:
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.
Dewey Decimal subject based links to Web sites, concentrating on academic and research oriented sites. Selective rather than inclusive. Search engine also available.
Geologic Hazards Team (US Geological Survey)
Information and links to additional sources on landslides, earthquakes, geomagnetism and other phenomena. Includes interactive maps and news.
Hubble Telescope has sent back the first images after being serviced.
Science, engineering, and technology page for best web resources, education, and research.
Martindale's The Reference Desk
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.
Secrets of the Ice
Inspired by a four-year Antarctica expedition, the site will follow progress and report latest findings regarding climate, environment, ice core research.
Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.
Tapestry of Time and Terrain
Contains information about topography and geology of the continental United States along with geologic time.
US Geological Survey
Provides information in the areas of hazards, natural resources, environment, and information management. Striking images.
Interactive online simulations of the earth.
Web Soil Survey
Provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.
Index of links to glossaries or dictionaries from various scientific disciplines. Searchable.