Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others.
Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.
Art Resource allows users to search for high quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the worlds major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled.
See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
National Gallery Collection (London)
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made
National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Ad*Access (Duke University)
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
Art Inventories Catalog (Smithsonian Institution)
Provides access to SIRIS, The Smithsonian Institution Research Information System, which includes a 300,000 record database maintained by the National Museum of American Art describing American paintings and sculptures.
A virtual gallery of artists and art movements of the 19th and 20th centuries (Romantic, Symbolist, Pre-Raphaclite, Art Nouveau, etc.). Many forgotten or neglected artists' works.
Search engine for fine art images. Enter search terms by name of artist, title of artwork or name, place of museum. Browse by movement, medium, subject, nationality or name of artist.
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities
Networked resources on Art and Architecture with links to art journals online, electronic exhibits, image collections, vendor and organizational information.
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.
Comprehensive database about North American painters, sculptors, and illustrators. Biographies, images, book and periodical references, museums and exhibitions, dealers and auction records.
Thousands of images, available free for education use, are presented in the categories of: animals, architecture, countries, maps, scenery, space, sports, weather, and many more.
Clip Art Review
guide to free graphics on the Web. Images are arranged by categories. Each site's graphics are described based on the type, number and quality of the images. Includes a clip art search engine
The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library
A comprehensive listing of all the art works exhibited. Browse through over 120 selected items illustrated and accompanied by extensive annotations. Take a virtual tour of the Museum - Link with the Frick Research Library.
Getty Information Institute
Provides search access to a number of Getty databases, among them: The Art and Architecture Thesaurus, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art .
A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
Library of Congress resources on African-American
expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.
The Huntington Art Collections
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.
Life magazine presents online exhibits of photo essays from past issues of the magazine- Check the quick index for easy navigation. Link to Life Homepage for current events.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
One of the major American Museums. Exhibitions and collections highlights plus the rapidly growing searchable
Collections Online already containing 18,000 images and 42,000 records of art objects from selected departments.
View permanent and temporary exhibits, take a tour, find information about publications, etc. Some information available only in French
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
In addition to information on exhibitions, program calendars, publications and holdings, this site offers access to the online catalogs for the museum's libraries and a selection of art links and access to over 400,000 high resolution images of their collection online for public use. In addition to keyword search, users may browse the collection by artist, method, geographic location, and date/era.
Nanoworld Image Gallery
Provides scanning electron microscope (SEM) and transmission electron microscope (TEM) images in nineteen categories including blood. cellular ultrastructure, pollen, yeast, insects, and digestion.
National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
Visit the collections room by room, by medium and school. Tour current exhibitions. Search the collection by artist and/or title, or by subject. Expanded search available.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Browse or search The New York Public Library digital collection of 275,000 images (more coming) from primary sources and printed rarities, including illuminated manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and photographs ephemera, illustrated books, etc.
Philadelphia Museum of Art
One of the largest museum in the United States. Search about 4000 objects by keyword. Click the "options" link to limit by artist, classification, and original work.
PhotoDisc: Royalty Free Stock Photography
Image database. Basic or Power (Boolean or natural language) search by keyword or concepts. Thumbnail images can be saved, enlarged, purchased. Uses Virage technology to find visual matches by color, composition, texture, etc.
Online learning community of people improving their photography expertise. Techniques, equipment, reviews, guides, critiques.
Social Issues Collection
The Social Issues Collection is an ongoing database of historical images from the western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. The collection covers political and social topics such as women's issues and labor and government, as well as ethnic groups.
The State Hermitage Museum
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.
Time Life Pictures
Hundreds of thousands of photographs from the Time, Inc. Collection taken since the 1930s for its publications, plus over a million historical images from the London Mansell Collection. Excellent search engine.
Vascular Plant Image Gallery
No-nonsense botany teaching resource. Vascular plants are arranged alphabetically by family. Brief descriptions are provided, and the site is searchable.
Visual Resources Association
multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments. The Association is committed to providing leadership in the visual resources field, developing and advocating standards, and offering educational tools and opportunities for the benefit of the community at large.