Deaf Education - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Education category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
|
United States - Statistics
General Resources
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Visual Discourse a Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
Early Intervention Dictionary: a Multidisciplinary Guide to Terminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV891 .C63 2006
Check Status
Education and the Law: A Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference KF4117 .T39 1996
Check Status
Field Guide to Gestures: How to Identify and Interpret Virtually Every Gesture Known to Man
Mortensen Library Reference BF637.N66 A75 2003
Check Status
Encyclopedias
United States - Statistics
Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011
Check Status
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Educator's Reference Complete
Periodicals of interest to teachers, school administrators, and education students. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note that a number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable. The Education Resources Information Center is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please email ERICRequests@ed.gov with the record number, title, and link.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
American Sign Language (ASL)
This site is designed to help the user become proficient at finger spelling. It also offers an animated finger spelling converter and an interactive quiz.
ASLU (American Sign Language University)
Information with video tutorials and alphabetical dictionary.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
The Deaf Resource Library
Online collection of reference material and links intended to educate and inform people about deaf culture as well as deaf and hard of hearing related topics.
FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Federally sponsored link of teaching and learning resources under subject categories
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.
Broader Guides
Related Guides