Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
hdr_library_wspring.jpg
Academics About U OF H
Admission Visiting Campus
Student Life Libraries
Alumni Public Purpose
News Arts & Events
Athletics Giving to U of H
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Dance - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Dance category
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version

    Biographical Dictionary of Dance
    By Barbara Naomi Cohen-Stratyner. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1785 A1 C67] Check Status

    Core Collection in Dance
    Edited by Mary E. Edsall. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1594 E38 C67] Check Status

    Dance Encyclopedia
    Compiled by Anatole Chujoy. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C55 1967] Check Status

    International Dictionary of Ballet, 2 vols.
    Edited by Martha Bremser. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I57 1993] Check Status

    International Dictionary of Modern Dance
    Edited by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I572 1998] Check Status

    International Encyclopedia of Dance
    Edited by Selma Jeanne Cohen. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I58 v.1-6] Check Status

    The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
    By Nihon Bikuta Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MX1627 J32 v.1-30] Check Status

    The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas
    By Horoaki Ohta, Katsumori Ichikawa, Yuji Ichihashi, and Nihon Bikuta¯ Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MVML 3549 J3 v.1-6] Check Status

    Oxford Dictionary of Dance
    By Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C74 O93] Check Status

    Tap Dance Dictionary
    By Mark Knowles. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1794 K66 T3] Check Status


    Sections in this category: General Resources | Periodical Databases


    Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

    General Resources

    GV1587
    Dance notation

    GV1589
    Dance education

    GV1600 - GV1619
    Dance - by period

    GV1620 - GV1728
    Dance - by country

    GV1785
    Biographies

    GV1787
    Ballet

    M1520
    Ballet music (full scores)

    M1523-M1526
    Ballet music (piano scores)
    (Music may also be in other places. Consult the library catalog or a librarian.)

    ML3400 - ML3465
    History and Criticism--Dance Music

    MT95 - MT100
    Stories and Plots, etc.

    RC
    Dance Therapy


    Periodical Databases

    Academic OneFile
    Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.


    Sections in this category: Streaming Video | Interlibrary Loan | Periodical Databases

    Streaming Video

    Dance in Video
    Watch hundreds of dance videos online, covering the areas of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational, and more.


    Interlibrary Loan

    WorldCat
    Available through FirstSearch, the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


    Periodical Databases

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    Campus Research
    Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.

    CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo
    Search CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo at the same time!

    Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
    Provides citations for thousands of dance resources, focusing on dance education. Includes journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

    IIMP Full Text (International Index to Music Periodicals)
    Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

    JSTOR
    Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

    Music Index Online
    Years Covered: 1973-Present
    Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

    RILM
    Years Covered: 1967-Present
    RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale ) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.



    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    Ballet Review

    Contact Quarterly

    Dance Chronicle

    Dance International

    Dance Magazine

    Dance Perspectives

    Dance Research Journal

    Dance Teacher

    Dancing Times

    JOPERD: Journal of Physical Ed., Recreation & Dance

    Journal of Dance Education

    Journal of Dance Medicine and Science

    Performing Arts Journal print format

    Performing Arts Review print format

    Pointe

    Research in Dance Education



    Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

    Ballet

    Ballet Dancers

    Ballet History

    Ballet pictorial works

    Ballets piano scores

    Choreography

    Dance

    Dance 17th Century [or 18th Century, 19th Century, etc.]

    Dance History

    Dance Notation

    Dance study and teaching

    Dance Therapy

    Dance United States [or other countries]

    Dancers

    Folk dance music

    Jazz dance

    Modern Dance

    Movement notation

    Movement Therapy

    Performing arts


    Sections in this category: Comprehensive Sites | Costume | Dance Collections | Dance Companies | Dance Organizations | Dance Videos | Employment | Funding | Medicine & Health

    Comprehensive Sites

    Alliance of Artists Community
    Service organization for the field of artists’ communities. Lists residences in the performing and media arts and opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration; offers workshops, research, financial resources, and advocacy.

    Dance Links
    Site includes links to dance companies, schools, and organizations throughout the world. It also includes links to dance-related newsgroups, publications, and FAQs.

    EUDRID
    Information about dance in Europe, organized by country.

    Infomine Scholarly Internet Resource Collections: Visual & Performing Arts
    This is an annotated search and browse virtual library containing a wide variety of information on performing arts subjects.

    Performing Arts Encyclopedia
    Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.

    Renaissance Dance
    Includes list of primary and secondary sources online as well as companies, workshops, teachers, etc.

    Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
    Directory of dance resources on the web including sites that have information about areas of dance, sites of dance organizations and individual dancers, and links to jobs and competitions.


    Costume

    Costume Page
    A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links. There are well over 2,000 unique links listed on these pages.


    Dance Collections

    American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
    This site presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. This online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, etc.

    Australian Dance Collection: a Directory of Resources
    The collection has moved to Trove, the National Library’s discovery service. The original Catalog of the National Library of Australia has been archived. Entries had two components: a historical note/brief biography and a descriptive list of individual items for that entry. These included film and video; oral history/audio items; manuscript materials; pictorial/photographic materials; programs, etc.

    Library of Congress Present Music, Theatre and Dance
    Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Use the advanced search to find dance materials in a variety of formats, including databases, online presentations, videos, exhibits, and finding aids.

    New York Public Library: Jerome Robbins Dance Division
    Provides access to their catalog as well as dance resources on the internet, including festivals, competitions, schools, periodicals, research resources, grants, and computer applications for dance.


    Dance Companies

    Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

    American Ballet Theatre
    The ABT's homepage includes information about their New York season, their Repertory Archives, dancer biographies, and pictures.

    Full Force Dance Theatre
    Directed by Katie Stevinson-Nollet, the FFDT has presented modern dance since 1992. Site includes its workshops and audition dates.

    Mark Morris Dance Group

    Merce Cunningham Dance Company

    New York City Ballet
    Site has detailed information about repertory and dancers, and reference tools including bibliographies, discographies, workout books, and links. Includes schedule and ticket information.

    New York Live Arts (includes the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Dance Company)

    Royal Ballet

    San Francisco Ballet


    Dance Organizations

    American Dance Therapy Association
    Includes information about the association, educational programs, and links to related sites.

    Congress on Research in Dance
    Includes information about awards, conferences, and CORD news as well as archives, their newsletter, and links to dance sites.

    Connecticut Dance Alliance
    Connecticut's state-wide dance organization provides performance opportunities, marketing, support for professional development, an e-newsletter and calendar.

    Dance Heritage Coalition
    A coalition of major dance collections that focuses on access to materials, documentation of dance, preservation of existing documentation, and education. Includes many helpful links.

    Dance Notation Bureau
    Information about the Labanotation system of dance notation

    Dance/USA
    Provides information about companies, jobs and auditions, presenters, service organizations, summer festivals, community programs, publications, meetings.

    Explore Dance (from SHAPE America)
    Provides resources for teachers of dance and movement in the school setting, including pedagogy, performance practices and technology, standards and assessments, curricular and professional development, teacher preparation, and healthy practices.(Formerly was the National Dance Association site.)

    Society of Dance History Scholars
    Provides information about the society, including membership, publications, conferences, awards, and online resources.


    Dance Videos

    Virtual Pillow - Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival
    A valuable resource for dance videos, including dance performances; talks, lectures, and forums with choreographers, dancers, and more; artist interviews; Master Classes; and more.


    Employment

    Current Jobs for Graduates
    National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.


    Funding

    Alliance of Artists Community
    Lists residences in the performing and media arts.

    National Assembly of State Arts Agencies

    National Endowment for the Arts

    New England Foundation for the Arts
    News and information on grants, job opportunities, and the arts in New England.


    Medicine & Health

    Alexander Technique
    Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, and links to societies.

    International Association for Dance Medicine & Science
    Information and links related to the medical, scientic and educational activities of dancers.

    Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
    Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest.


    Red Impact Bar