Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Curriculum- Mathematics/Science - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Education category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias | United States - Statistics

    General Resources

    Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

    Key Concepts in Education
    Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

    Key Concepts in Education
    Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

    Key Concepts in Teaching Primary Mathematics
    Covering the key principles and concepts in the teaching and learning of mathematics in elementary schools, this text provides trainee and practicing teachers with a quick and easy reference to what they need to know for their course, and in the classroom.

    Mathematics
    Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field.

    Princeton Companion to Mathematics
    Surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field.

    Real-Life Math
    Provides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks, such as buying insurance, constructing a budget, reading graphs, adjusting cooking recipes or planning for retirement.

    Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
    An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

    World of Earth Science (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full two volumes of the 2003 edition encyclopedia which presents a comprehensive guide to concepts, theories, discoveries and issues relating to topics in earth science. UofH only.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status

    Encyclopedia of Education
    Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

    Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

    Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002 Check Status


    United States - Statistics

    Almanac of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011 Check Status


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    ERIC
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    ProQuest Education Journals
    Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

    Teacher Reference Center
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

    WorldwideScience.org
    Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    The Electronic Journal of Science Education
    Online since 1996, this peer-reviewed e-journal explores pedagogy and professional development in K-16 science education. Both abstracts and the full text of all articles are available.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    Access Excellence @ the national health museum
    This searchable site provides biology teachers access to "colleagues, scientists, and critical sources of new scientific information". Teaching tips, classroom activities, and graphics are among the resources offered.

    Amazing Space
    K-12 educational activities about the planets, stars, universe, and the history of telescopes.

    American Mathematical Society Website
    Official website of the American Mathematical Society

    Annenberg Media Professional development programming for K-12 teachers
    This site has information on professional development and access to some free quality resources via video on demand.

    Ask A Biologist
    Ask a Biologist is intended primarily to serve grades K-12 and to be available as a resource for teachers.

    Backyard Nature
    A colorful site designed to teach nature and ecology through the life found in backyards.

    BAM! Body and Mind
    From the centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this colorful, content-packed site "was created to answer kids' questions on health issues and recommend ways to make their bodies and minds healthier, stronger, and safer." Curriculum materials provided for teachers.

    Biology Project
    Designed for high school and college biology students, this site has problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry, cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, mendelian genetics, and molecular biology. Some modules are available in Spanish.

    CEC Lesson Plans
    From the Columbia Education Center, this site offers a large number of teacher-submitted lesson plans organized by grade level in five categories: Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Miscellaneous.

    Center for Educational Resources (CERES) Project
    This collection of K-12 science education materials for teaching astronomy features four collections of educational resources. The Educational Activities section has lesson plans with recommended grade levels and estimated time requirements.

    Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
    Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

    Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE)
    Resources at this site include links to lesson plans, scientific data, interactive computer models, and virtual field trips.

    Edison's Miracle of Light
    Exploring the "web of personal, patent, and corporate battles" Thomas Edison encountered in forming a "new industry to provide electric power", this site contains an historical essay, a complete list of Edison' s patents, information on the AC and DC currents, recordings produced by the Edison company, and a timeline of Edison's life.

    Educational Applets: Chemistry (University of California, Irvine
    Simulations to explore scientific principles.

    Einstein for Kids
    Einstein for Kids highlights his personal life, scientific achievements, political activities, Jewish identity, leisure, and correspondence with children.

    EnchantedLearning.com:Biomes-Habitats
    Learn about the various biomes of the earth from the arc tic to a coral reef at this site. Basic information about the climate, plant, and animal life is available along with printable sheets on the various animals.

    Environmental Diseases from A to Z
    Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.

    Environmental Education on the Internet
    This site provides a strong presence for environment education on the Internet. It presents information and ideas to help educators and students, K-1 2, in environmental education including endangered species lists and Earth Day activities.

    Exploring Leonardo
    Appropriate for grades 4-8, this site is equally suitable for art and science classes researching the work of Leonardo da Vinci.

    Frank Potter's Science Gems
    Excellent annotated directory of more than 2,500 science sources sorted by category, sub-category, and grade level. Also include annotated links to lesson plans.

    FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
    Federally sponsored link of teaching and learning resources under subject categories

    From Stargazers to Starships
    This high school level tutorial focuses on three topics: Astronomy of the Earth's motion in space, Newtonian mechanics, and Spaceflight and Spacecraft. Included are a timeline, a list of topics covered, a math refresher, and a glossary. A special section for teachers provides ideas for classroom use.

    The Galileo Project (Rice University)
    Information on the life and work of Galileo and the science of his time. "Resources" includes a searchable database of 16th and 17th century scientists, a bibliography, and an extensive collection of web links.

    The GLOBE Program
    Participatory site on the environment, useful for K-12 science programs.

    Journey North: A Global Study of Wildlife Migration and Seasonal Change
    Journey North uses the Internet to track migration and signs of spring. K-12.

    The K-8 Aeronautics Internet Textbook
    The principles of aeronautics are introduced here to elementary and middle school children. They are presented in three reading levels in English and Spanish. Lesson plans are available.

    MAA Online (The Mathematical Association of America)
    Official website of The Mathematical Association of America

    MacTutor History of Mathematics
    Easily searchable biographies of mathematicians, chronologies, essays, bibliographies, web links, and an index to famous curves.

    Math.Net Links to the Mathematical World
    Collection of mathematical resources and links to subjects. Pointers to information resources, scientific computing, mathematical institutions

    Mathematical Association of America
    Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.

    Multimedia Math Glossary
    An illustrated glossary of math terminology for grades 1-8. A variety of tables of symbols, weights, and measurements is included from the 3rd through 8th grades.

    National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
    Official website of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

    National Science Digital Library
    This site offers resources for teachers and librarians, reviews recent headlines related to science, and offers the opportunity to "Ask NSDL".

    Neuroscience for Kids
    Explore the nervous system, using experiments, activities, and games to learn about the brain, spinal cord, neurons, and senses.

    The Nine Planets
    An overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system. Includes information about the space missions and the probes that have provided astronomical data.

    The Physics Classroom
    A collection of GIF animations and accompanying explanations of major physics concepts designed for high school level use.

    Science Fair Project Resource Guide
    This site contains an annotated list of sites on how to do a science fair project, samples of completed projects, and ideas for them. It also provides general science resources.

    Science.gov
    Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

    SCORE (Schools of California Online Resources for Education): Science
    Provides teacher and student resources in science by grade level, with links to other sites.

    The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
    Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

    Weather 101 (A Resource for Teachers & Students)
    Maintained by an expert meteorologist, this resource for teachers and students is a collection of explanatory pages and links on many aspects of weather. Lesson plans and meteorology career information are included.


    Encyclopedias

    MathWorld
    Comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian
    Red Impact Bar