Curriculum- Language Arts Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Curriculum- Language Arts - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Education category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Encyclopedias | United States - Statistics

    General Resources

    Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
    Guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

    Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

    Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
    Comprehensive overview of research in the field. Also in print 2nd edition Mortensen Library Shelves [LB1576 .H234 2003]

    Key Concepts in Education
    Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

    Nonfiction Classics for Students
    Provides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure.

    Quality Counts
    Compilation of over 75 education indicators for each of the 50 states. Published by Education Week on the Web, in collaboration with the Pew Charitable Trusts.

    Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
    An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001 Check Status

    Encyclopedia of Education
    Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

    Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

    Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
    Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002 Check Status


    United States - Statistics

    Almanac of American Education
    Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011 Check Status


    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    ERIC (Proquest)
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

    Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1900-
    Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    ProQuest Education Journals
    Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

    Teacher Reference Center
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


    Annenberg Media Professional development programming for K-12 teachers
    This site has information on professional development and access to some free quality resources via video on demand.

    CARLA: The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition
    The University of Minnesota's Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (or CARLA) was established to help teachers of second languages. Here you will find research and programs on a wide range of areas, including immersive education, content-based instruction, and assessment.

    Casa de Joanna & Linguis Tech Production
    A collection of briefly annotated Web sites for those learning and teaching Spanish and French. The site features General Language Resources and Art Resources in English and Spanish, as well.

    Common Core State Standards in Connecticut
    Provided by the Connecticut State Department of Education, this website has links to the Academic Office Newsletter as well as state standards for Common Core changes in mathematics and English language arts for grades K-12. It also includes classroom resources and rubrics for the Tri-State Collaborative (Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island) and a grade-by-grade guide for parents.

    Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
    Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone from children to college students to professionals organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

    EDSITEment
    Provides Internet access designed for classroom use in exploring the borders that separate and connect aspects of our national experience. Excellent links to African Studies and the Latin American Network Information Center. K-12.

    Educator Labs
    This resource has been compiled by school librarians and media specialists to help educators find the resources they need. In addition to links useful websites, Educator Labs lesson plans on several topics.

    EnglishClub.com
    Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!

    EverythingESL
    This attractive site is a nice resource for any teacher with second language students. It offers teaching tips with classroom activities and a select annotated list of books, CD-ROMS, and Websites.

    SCORE (Schools of California Online Resources for Education): Language Arts
    Provides teacher and student resources in language arts by grade level, with links to other sites.

    The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
    Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

    University of Pittsburgh Global Studies Center
    The University of Pittsburgh Global Studies Center is a US Department of Education recognized center for international studies. It offers resources for students and faculty in 'interdisciplinary, cross-cultural research and learning on issues of global concern in four broadly defined areas: global health, global security, global economy and global society.'