Curriculum- History/Social Science - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Education category
Sections in this category:
United States - Statistics
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world
Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011
Encyclopedia of American Studies EAS
Features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Human Rights Reports - Country Reports on Human Rrights Practices for [1993-1999]
Years Covered: 1993-1999
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.
Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.
Key Concepts in Social Research
An authoritative, crystal-clear introduction to research methods which really takes account of the needs of students for accessible, focused information to help with undergraduate essays and exams.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
The United States Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005
United States - Statistics
Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
Provides biographical information on the more than 13,000 persons who have served in the United States Congress, including those who served in the Continental Congress.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note: A number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable because of some pre-2005 documents having personally identifiable information. ERIC is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please fill out the Request a PDF form on the ERIC website.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
1492: An Ongoing Voyage
The Library of Congress presents this site, which is from an exhibit that focuses "on those people who were in this hemisphere [sic Western] before 1492 and those from Europe and Africa who arrived in the 16th and early 17th centuries." Information is brief, but the inclusion of maps and facsimile documents may help students gain perspective for this era.
Africans in America
This site is a searchable history of slavery in the United States, featuring images, historical documents, biographies, and contemporary and modern commentaries. Teacher's guide included.
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.
American Presidency Project
The archives contain thousands of documents such as inaugural addresses, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
Annenberg Media Professional development programming for K-12 teachers
This site has information on professional development and access to some free quality resources via video on demand.
Ben's Guide to US Government for Kids
Guided by Ben Franklin, users of this site can explore the symbols and branches of government, historical documents, national versus state government, and citizenship. There are separate units for grades K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12, with an additional section for parents and teachers
California Department of Education's History-Social Science Curriculum Resources
List of teacher and parent resources in history and social sciences (HSS).
CEC Lesson Plans
From the Columbia Education Center, this site offers a large number of teacher-submitted lesson plans organized by grade level in five categories: Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Miscellaneous.
Center for Global Studies: Educational Resources for K-12
The University of Illinois Center for Global Studies evaluates educational resources related to global issues. There are links to a wide variety of organizations and associations that provide lesson plans and curriculum guides, primary and secondary source materials, and professional development opportunities.
This well-organized site is a fine resource for K-12 teachers and students featuring primary sources related to American government and democracy. Real Player.
ClassBrain.com: State Reports
ClassBrain is an impressive site that provides valuable educational resources for students, parents, and teachers. It is equipped with various learning activities and games for students ranging from pre-K--grade 12. The site also contains information on world countries and U.S. states.
CNN Student News
Playing from its strength, CNN offers this education site built around issues in the news as covered by various CNN programs. student and teacher versions are included. QuickTime, RealPlayer, or Windows Media Player; simPlayer.
While this site provides information about touring Williamsburg, there is a wealth of information regarding Colonial Virginian, the Founding Father, trades, and historic locations. There are also lesson plans about colonial America and a dateline.
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
Crucible of Empire: The Spanish-American War
This site offers a timeline of the major events of the war, original 1890s sheet music, photographs, and a section on "yellow journalism". There is a section of educational activities for teachers.
Digital Classroom (National Archives and Records Administration), The
Site is designed to encourage teachers of students at all levels to use archival documents in the classroom. Includes sample lesson plans for history teachers.
An excellent Teaching Resource for History and the Social Sciences. Has ideas on lesson plans incorporating primary sources as well as links to many National Archives primary sources.
Provides Internet access designed for classroom use in exploring the borders that separate and connect aspects of our national experience. Excellent links to African Studies and the Latin American Network Information Center. K-12.
FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Federally sponsored link of teaching and learning resources under subject categories
History Matters is an excellent resource for high school and university history teachers, offering hundreds of primary documents and audio clips, an impressive webliography, and a useful reference section which links to resources on standards, citing and evaluating websites, and understanding copyright and fair use laws.
Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia
The mission of the museum is to "promote racial tolerance by helping people understand the historical and contemporary expressions of intolerance".
Lesson Plans and Resources for Social Studies Teachers
This site is a compilation of pointers to lesson plans and resources for Social Studies teachers, K-12.
An economics and money management primer that addresses how to earn, budget, save and invest money. Issues covered included the stock market, credit cards, inflation, income, expenses, and interest rates. Lesson plans are included.
"Guaranteed Kidsafe", this site is appropriate for students and teachers wit h an interest in Greek mythology. It provides summaries of myths based on the ancient texts, lesson plans for teachers, and an Illustrated Encyclopedia of Greek Mythology.
National Center for History in the Schools
The UCLA Department of History hosts the National Center for History in the Schools, a site that host standards for the teaching of history.
From the NCHS: 'The Center’s first projects were the National History Standards for History for grades 5-12 and a second set of standards for kindergarten through 4th grade. More recently, NCHS has developed materials for World History including World History for Us All: The Big Eras: A Compact History of Humankind for Teachers and Students. In addition the Center has published over 80 teaching units in U.S. and World History that draw on historical primary sources and link lessons to history standards.'
National Geographic Map Machine
Terrific site for geography classes. Maps are from the NGS 1995 atlas. General information about each country or state includes area, population, flag, religion, language, and other demographic data.
Award winning site provides curriculum support, K-12, in geography.
New Deal Network
Major resource for secondary school educators on FDR and the New De al.
Nixon's China Game
The 1972 meeting between President Richard Nixon and Chairman Mao Tse-tung is explored on this website. It includes a timeline, maps, recommended resources, and a teacher's guide.
This site explores ancient Near Eastern Egyption, Greek and Roman cultures by looking at the people, myths, daily life, death, burial, writing and archaeology. Suitable for younger students as well as providing resources for students, and teachers. Plug-ins for QuickTime, Real Audio and Shockwaves are required.
Secrets of Lost Empires
This website is an exploration of the "long-forgotten secrets of early architects and engineers." The five sections, Medieval Siege, Pharaoh's Obelisk, Easter Island, Roman Bath, and China Bridge, each contain a Hot Science Topic. Teachers' resources are available.
Social Issues Collection
The Social Issues Collection is an ongoing database of historical images from the western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. The collection covers political and social topics such as women's issues and labor and government, as well as ethnic groups.
Social Science Data Analysis Network
The Social Science Data Analysis Network makes the latest US census surveys and demographic trends accessible to educators, policy makers, the media, and students at all levels.
Spy Letters of the American Revolution
This site is built around original source materials held at Clements Library. Timelines from 1763-1783 and the Teacher's Lounge enrich this site for classroom purposes.
A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through text, documents, photographs, art, and literature. Relevant web links included for middle school and high school use.
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.
The Underground Railroad
With a time line, classroom ideas, and links to other resources, this website explores the options for slaves in America - taking the chance for freedom on the Underground Railroad or staying on the plantation.
US Census Bureau: Educational Resources at the Census Bureau
The US Census has developed this website to facilitate K-12 teachers and students in using the Census to learn about map literacy, community involvement, and managing data.
US Patent and Trademark Office Kids Pages
For children, this site presents puzzles, freebies, games, and other activities. For teachers, coaches, and parents, the site features curriculum guides, contest announcements, and advice on "assisting minor children with patent applications."
Women in World History Curriculum
This site primarily is geared toward introducing the concept of women's studies in middle school and high school world history classes. Although this is a commercial site, many of the entries have free sample activities for the unit.
Work 'n' Progress: Stories of Southern Labor
A detailed history of the labor movement in the southern U.S., from the colonial and antebellum eras to the present, is presented. Lesson plans and resources for middle and high school students are included.
Educational material found here relate s to topics relevant to the World Bank's mission of reducing international poverty and raising the standard of living for people in developing nations. Learning models on population growth rate and access to safe water are included, as well as pertinent charts and graphs.