A Broken System: Error Rates in Capital Cases 1973-1995
"The Liebman Study" is a ground breaking report examining every capital conviction and appeal from 1973-1995. Full text of report is available in HTML. Adobe Acrobat is needed. Note: Not all appendices are available online. The Justice Project hopes to have them available soon.
Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Sources
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
Criminal Poisoning: an Investigational Guide for Law Enforcement, Toxicologist, Forensic Scientists, and Attorneys
Mortensen Library Reference RA1228 .T74 2007
Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773 .S3547 2004
Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013
Great American Court Cases, Gale
This resource from Gale, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents.
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Mortensen Library Reference KF8742 .W567 2004
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003
Mortensen Library Reference HV6715 .H385 2006
National Survey of State Laws
A quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV6025 .O87 2007
Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America
Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice, equal protection, and business and government law.
Terrorism: A Documentary History
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .T4594 2003
Terrorism: A Guide to Events and Documents
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K698 2004
Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
Primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
World of Criminal Justice, Gale
Explains in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice.
Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007
The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .C48 2004
Collins Dictionary of Law
The constant companion for all law students, and the essential reference guide for laymen, particularly business people, and all who desire a reliable guide to the law's special terminology (from abandonee to zero tolerance), including that of European union law.
The Dictionary of Criminal Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .R87 2011
Dictionary of Culprits and Criminals
Mortensen Library Reference HV6245 .K64 1995
Dictionary of Policing
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system and designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
Contemporary prison practice faces many challenges, is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized, influenced by the new National Offender Management Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established prisons and penal lexicon.
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
Emphasizes a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.
Dictionary of Spanish Law
Provides coverage of British, American, and Spanish law, including criminal, civil, commercial, and international law.
Dictionary of Youth Justice
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organizational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.
Details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal.
Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1865-1986
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 1988
Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1900 through 2000
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 2002
The Encyclopedia of American Prisons
Mortensen Library Reference HV9471 .S54 2003
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
Encyclopedia of DNA and the US Criminal Justice System
Mortensen Library Reference RA1057.55 .P34 2004
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science: a Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction
Mortensen Library Reference HV8073 .C595 2002
Encyclopedia of Intelligence & Counterintelligence
Provides a unique background perspective for viewing history and current events. In easy-to-understand, non-technical language, it explains how espionage works as a function of national policy; traces the roots of national security; profiles key intelligence leaders, agents, and double-agents; discusses intelligence concepts and techniques; and profiles the security organizations and intelligence history and policies of nations around the world.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States: from Capone's Chicago to the New Urban Underworld
Mortensen Library Reference HV6446 .K43 2000
The Encyclopedia of Police Science
Mortensen Library Reference HV7901 .E53 2012
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law
Mortensen Library Reference KF9325.A68 M33 2006
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K883 2003
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Mortensen Library Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Uniform Crime Reports
Uniform crime statistics for the United States (1995-present) including Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistic, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and other individual reports. Statistics can be searched back to 1960 at http://www.ucrdatatool.gov/.
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.
the site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Each day, the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit are added, as well.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
LexisNexis (Nexis Uni)
Nexis Uni is the new platform for LexisNexis (replacing LexisNexis Academic). Offers access to United States and international legal citations, briefs, law reviews, as well as current world and business news and company information.
Military & Government Collection
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
Internet Law Library
Access to federal, state, and other nations' laws, to treaties and international law, and other legal information. Includes search engines for US Code and Code of Federal Regulations.
The Lock-Up Society
"As the new millennium began, the number of Americans behind bars passed two million -- five times the inmate population in 1972. In these reports, American Radio explores some of the causes and ramifications of this unprecedented experiment in mass incarceration." RealAudio required.
National Statistics (UK)
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Nationally recognized criminal justice statistics reference book, now available online. Adobe Acrobat required. May be downloaded from site (1994-present). Also have print on Mortensen Library Shelves HV6787 .S68 (1977-1993)