Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology
Definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.
Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness
After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years.
Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance
The world's foremost 'experts on expertise' review our scientific knowledge on expertise and expert performance and how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of their development, training, reasoning, knowledge, social support, and innate talent.
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countries, all tied together by the unifying focus on the role of sign systems in human relations with the environment.
Deadly Lessons: School Shooters tell Why
This two-part, seven-article series from the Chicago Sun Times uses research done by the Secret Service to examine the phenomenon of random school shootings.
Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007
Check Status
Domestic Violence and Child Abuse Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information About Spousal/Partner, Child, Sibling, Parent, and Elder Abuse ...
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D66 2000
Check Status
Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003
Check Status
Health Professions Career and Education Directory
Mortensen Library Reference R735.A1 H43
Check Status
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.
Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007
Check Status
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on psychologists from all over the world from 1850 to the present day.
Key Thinkers in Psychology
It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'.
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system, designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.
Dictionary of Mind and Body: Therapies, Techniques and Ideas in Alternative Medicine, the Healing Arts and Psychology
Mortensen Library Reference BF168 .W37 1996
Check Status
Dictionary of Psychological Theories (Elsevier)
Contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005
Check Status
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008
Check Status
Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology addresses all these issues and more, and is a core reference for any student of psychology. It is authoritative and accessible, and covers the basic curriculum content of a degree course along with more specialized material in areas of widespread interest
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
Current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.
Encyclopedia of Consciousness
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Gale
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Encyclopedia of Occultism & Parapsychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Alcohol Studies Database
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Professional and consumer health information. Includes journals, reference sources, web links, pamphlets, etc. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.
PsycARTICLES
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycInfo
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
Free Medical Journals
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations
German Journal of Psychiatry
Free, English-language, peer-reviewed journal begun in 1998. Includes articles, case studies, and conference announcements. Early issues had studies on body image and eating disorders, depression among the elderly, and seasonal-affective disorders.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.
American Psychological Association
The website of the leading professional a association in psychology is crammed with not only organizational and conference information, but also full text material, including articles from APA journals, position papers, reports, and more. Access through the Site Map or Latest News, since the search engine is poor.
Autism Information Center
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
Child and Family WebGuide (Tufts University)
Discusses and evaluates research-based websites on child development. Covered topics include child mental health, typical development, learning, and family/parenting issues.
Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations
Research related to EI topics, including self-awareness, optimism and empathy in the workplace. Includes links to full text of reports, information about model programs, a bibliography and links to related sources.
Drugs and Chemicals of Concern
Provides information about effects and use of individual drugs. Includes statistics on illicit drug use in the US.
eiNET: Psychology
Huge searchable list of sites in psychology and psychological medicine. Subdivided into such areas as clinical, educational, experimental, and physiological.
Intute- Psychology
Annotated highly selective list of Internet resources, chosen by academics and librarians. Subdivided by subject area and resource type. Searchable
The Lock-Up Society
"As the new millennium began, the number of Americans behind bars passed two million -- five times the inmate population in 1972. In these reports, American Radio explores some of the causes and ramifications of this unprecedented experiment in mass incarceration." RealAudio required.
NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
Psych Links (Haverford College)
Includes rankings of graduate programs, instructions on writing a hypertext research paper or an APA style lab report, and online brain physiology text books.
PsychCrawler
Full text, searchable access to articles and publications of the APA, NIMH, U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
Psychiatry Online
An international peer-reviewed journal of articles, case reports, and briefs in such areas as transcultural mental health, child and adolescent psychiatry, and forensic psychiatry. Archives can be accessed through the Search button.
Psychology Web Links by Topic
Subdivided into clinical, cognitive, cultural, developmental, personality, and social psychology; neuroscience; industrial-organizational; history of psychology.
School Psychology Resources Online
Extensive list of web links on specific conditions/disorders, functional behavioral assessment, education law, social and emotional development, school violence, and other relevant topics.
Sexual Harassment Resources
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.
The Source: Autism Asperger's Syndrome
This site, maintained by ASPEN of America, provides up-to-date and comprehensive information on social and communication disorders, with particular focus on Asperger Syndrome and Nonverbal Learning Disorder. Included are a calendar of events in the US and Canada and a Reference Room including bibliographies of books, articles, audiotapes and videotapes.
Web of Addictions
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Links to psychology websites in such categories as "People and History", and "Environment Behavior Relationships".. Additional sites for career exploration and professional organizations.