Copyright - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Reference category
Sections in this category:
ARL Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries
Complete text (32 pages) of Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries issued by the Association of Research Libraries (ARL). The code identifies eight principles representing the library community's current consensus about acceptable practices for the fair use of copyrighted material.
Copyright: The Complete Guide for Music Educators
By Jay Althouse. Allen Library Stacks [KF3035 A48 C66]
Technology and Copyright Law : a Guidebook for the Library, Research, and Teaching Professions
Mortensen Library Reference KF3030.1 .B533 2007
Education and the Law: A Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference KF4117 .T39 1996
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Public Library of Law
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Sections in this category:
10 Big Myths about Copyright Explained
An attempt to answer common myths about copyright and cover issues related to copyright and USENET/Internet publication.
American Library Association Copyright Issues
In depth information on copyright from the American Library Association.
Center for Social Media
Showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with publics to address the problems that they share.
Copyright & Fair Use
This webpage contains detailed information on all aspects of copyright as well as many links to other useful sites.
Copyright Clearance Center Inc
Includes legal information, compliance guidelines and litigation results, as well as permission forms.
Copyright Information from UT Libraries
From the libraries and General Counsel of the University of Tennessee comes a discussion of the copyright issues involved in course packs, fair use, multimedia presentations, off-air recording of broadcast programming, dissertation preparation, and other academic concerns.
Copyright Law & Graduate Research
Kenneth D. Crews' guide for graduate study, presented by Bell & Howell.
Copyright Management Center
This Indiana University site includes a quick guide and information about fair use issues, permissions information, copyright ownership, and file sharing.
Copyright Society of the U.S.A.
Deals with the study of copyright law and the rights for all forms of intellectual property. Includes a legal research center with links to copyright-related web sites including statutory and legislative materials, case law and courts, and licensing organizations.
Developed to assist authors and publishers achieve a balance between granting maximum access to a journal article and financial compensation for the publication by the publisher of the article.
Access to National Copyright Laws from around the globe.
Copyright: What Makes a Use "Fair"?
Discussion by June M. Besek, Executive Director of the Kernochan Center for Law, Media, and the Arts at Columbia Law School, of the ambiguous concept of fair use. Includes summaries of significant case law.
Crash Course in Copyright (University of Texas System)
Basic information as well as specifics for applying copyright on campus.
A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
This site serves to inform about current issues in copyright that affect the musical community.
A Hitchhiker's Guide to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act
The University of Hartford's guide to the Digital Millennium Copyright Act
The Cornell University Legal Information Institute site.
MLA Copyright for Music Librarians
This site has current issues in copyright that affect music libraries and the musical community; provides information for making decisions about copyright issues and music; and provides reference tools for answering questions about copyright.
Quick references to copyright information sponsored by the National Paralegal College.
Public Domain Chart
Provided by the Kathrine R. Everett Law Library at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, this page presents Lolly Gasaway's chart summarizing when works pass into the public domain.
Public Domain Information Project
Provides information and resources for identifying music in the public domain and includes an alphabetical list of songs in the public domain.
Public Domain Music
MIDI files, and text files of their lyrics, created by Benjamin Robert Tubb, based on original sheet music sources of the nineteenth century.
TEACH Act (Pennsylvania State University)
Complete text, explanation, and a discussion of the implications of the law governing copyright and fair use issues in distance education.
United States Copyright Office at the Library of Congress
Information about copyright from the source. Includes circulars relating to music copyright.
Visual Resources Association
multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments. The Association is committed to providing leadership in the visual resources field, developing and advocating standards, and offering educational tools and opportunities for the benefit of the community at large.
US Copyright Office
A Library of Congress office concerned with copyright history, proposed and pending legislation.