Conducting Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Conducting - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Catalogs of Printed Music

    General Resources

    Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: a Translation and Commentary
    By Hugh Macdonald. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 B51 G73] Check Status

    Black Conductors
    By Antoinette D. Handy. Allen Library Reference [REF ML402 H31 1995] Check Status

    Cambridge Companion to Conducting
    Edited by José Antonio Bowen. Allen Library Stacks [ML458 C36 B6] Check Status

    The Compleat Conductor
    By Gunther Schuller. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 S384 1997] Check Status

    Composer's Advocate: A Radical Orthodoxy for Conductors
    By Erich Leinsdorf. Allen Library Stacks [MT75 L53] Check Status

    Concert and Opera Conductors: A Bibliography of Biographical Materials
    By Robert H. Cowden. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 68 1987] Check Status

    Conductors on Conducting
    By Bernard Jacobson. Allen Library Stacks [ML457 J17] Check Status

    Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors
    By Don V. Moses, Robert W. Demaree, Jr., and Allen F. Ohmes. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 M92 2004] Check Status

    The Grammar of Conducting: A Comprehensive Guide to Baton Technique and Interpretation
    By Max Rudolf. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 R91 1994] Check Status

    Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music
    By William Rehrig. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B2 R45 v.1-3] Check Status

    The History of Orchestral Conducting
    By Elliott W. Galkin. Allen Library Stacks [ML457 G35] Check Status

    The Modern Conductor
    By Elizabeth Green. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 G79 1997] Check Status

    Orchestra Music: A Handbook
    By David Daniels. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 D1 2005] Check Status

    Performance Practice, Medieval to Contemporary: A Bibliographical Guide
    By John Roland Jackson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P43 J33] Check Status

    Performing Twentieth-Century Music
    By Arthur Weisburg. Allen Library Stacks [MT75 W45 P4] Check Status


    Catalogs of Printed Music

    American Orchestra Music: A Performance Catalog
    By Richard Koshgarian. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 K67 1992] Check Status

    Catalog of the American Music Center, vol.3: Music for Orchestra, Band and Large Ensemble
    By The American Music Center Library. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 A5] Check Status

    Edwin A. Fleischer Collection of Orchestral Music
    By The Philadelphia Free Library. Allen Library Reference [REF ML136 P54F 1979] Check Status

    Orchestral Music in Print
    By Margaret K. Farish. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 F 1994 IND and Suppl.] Check Status

    Sacred Choral Music in Print 2nd ed., Suppl., Index. Philadelphia, PA: Musicdata, 1985, 1996.
    By Gary S. Eslinger and F. Mark Daugherty. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 E 1985 & 1996 Suppl. & Index] Check Status

    Secular Choral Music in Print. 2nd ed., Suppl., Index
    By Mark F. Daugherty and Robert W. Cho. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 D3 1987 & 1996 Suppl. & Index] Check Status



    Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

    [REF] ML128 O5
    Orchestral Music-Bibliography

    M1000
    Orchestral music

    M1200
    Band music

    ML422
    Conductors-Biography

    ML457
    Interpretation and performance practice

    ML458
    Conducting (Instruments and instrumental music)

    ML1500
    Choral music

    MT70
    Orchestra and orchestration

    MT75
    Interpretation and analysis (general)

    MT85
    Conducting-Instruction and study; Score reading

    MT88
    Choral conducting

    MT733
    Band-Instruction and study



    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    American Choral Review

    Choir and Organ

    Choral Journal

    Galpin Society Journal

    Historical Performance

    Journal of Band Research

    Medical Problems of Performing Artists

    NSOA Bulletin

    Overseas Musician

    Symphony Magazine
    Check Status


    Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

    Band music

    Choirs music

    Choral conducting

    Choral singing

    Conducting

    Conductors music

    Instrumentation and orchestration

    Interpretation phrasing dynamics etc.

    Orchestra

    Performance

    Score reading

    Sight reading music

    Symphony orchestras


    American Choral Directors Association
    Includes festival list, conventions, forums, repertoire and standards, division and chapter information, and publications.

    American Music Center
    The American Music Center has merged with Meet the Composer to form New Music USA.

    Musica Virtual Choral Library
    A multilingual database of 135,000 entries which can be searched by composer, publisher, author of text, etc.