Artificial Intelligence
A factbook on the development and uses of intelligent robots that utilize artificial intelligence. An overview of how researchers simulate brain processes in these machines, and the variety of uses the machines/robots have.
Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.
Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773 .S3547 2004
Check Status
Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004
Check Status
Mathematics
Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field.
A Glossary of Netspeak and Textspeak
Mortensen Library Reference QA76.15 .C79 2004
Check Status
Photonics Dictionary
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.
AMS - MathSciNet
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.
ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.
CQ Researcher
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
E-Print Network
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
IEEE Xplore
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.
ProQuest Computing
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
ScienceResearch.com
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
TechXtra Information Search
Find articles, websites, books, industry news, and more in the engineering, mathematics, and computer sciences.
DMTCS: Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical Computer Science -
"A high standard peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to rapid publication of innovative research which favors the intersection of these two fields." Includes abstracts and full text of articles from issues back to 1997.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility
Information from an organization looking at the social and ethical impacts of information and communication technologies. See especially "Resources" for full reports and useful links.
CiteSeerX
Search engine and digital library in computer and information science. Creates citation index for literature search and evaluation, with hyperlinks between cites and citations shown in context. Created by NEC and hosted at Penn State.
CogPrints
Electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as portions of computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and other fields pertinent to the study of cognition.
Columbia Institute for Tele-Information (CITI)
Research center at Columbia University focusing on strategy, management and policy issues in telecommunications, computing and electronic mass media. Funded by the Sloan Foundation.
Computing Research Repository
Access to e-prints in all areas of computer science. Joint project of ACM, Los Alamos e-print archive, and National Computer Science Technical Reference Library. Browse or search pages, some as far back as 1993.
ITpapers.com (ZDNET)
Browseable collection of whitepapers and webcasts in information technology, management information systems, communications, computer security, etc.
ITProPortal
Beta version of a search engine specifically pointed at IT sites. Includes news, reviews, downloads, etc.
Knowledge Base (Indiana University)
Searchable database of answers to computing questions. While some are specific to Indiana, most have value to an y user.
LivingInternet.com
Information about the Internet, WWW, email, chats, etc., including history, how-to, discussions of importance and security issues, etc. Also links to Internet news sources.
MAA Online (The Mathematical Association of America)
Official website of The Mathematical Association of America. Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.
Nanowerk
Current news and information (including links and a Nanomaterial Database) covering all aspects of nanotechnology
Science.gov
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.
TechTutorials
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.
VassarStats
Link to pages that perform various statistical operations. Note also link to "Concepts and Applications of Inferential Statistics," a companion webtext.
NetLingo Dictionary of Internet Words
Frames based dictionary of internet words, describing technology, software, acronyms, etc. Brief definitions with links for more.
Whatis
Definitions, etc. for information technology focusing on the Internet and computers. Also provides-quick reference pages, and links between articles.
PRIME Mathematics Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of mathematics with extensive hyperlinks, including some to extended articles at different levels of complexity.
Virus Encyclopedia
Concise resource on malicious programs including viruses, Trojans, worms, and other malware.
Printer-friendly version