A factbook on the development and uses of intelligent robots that utilize artificial intelligence. An overview of how researchers simulate brain processes in these machines, and the variety of uses the machines/robots have.
Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.
Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.
Princeton Companion to Mathematics
Surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field.
Explores how computer graphics, sound, and touch are used to simulate reality. Describes the uses of this technology beyond entertainment, such as in engineering, training and business applications.
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.
AMS - MathSciNet
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: firstname.lastname@example.org). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions: SciFinder Instructions (PDF)
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Computing Research Repository
Access to e-prints in all areas of computer science. Joint project of ACM, Los Alamos e-print archive, and National Computer Science Technical Reference Library. Browse or search pages, some as far back as 1993.
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.