Composition - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Music category
Sections in this category:
Books
|
Periodicals
|
Websites
Books
The Craft of Musical Composition
By Paul Hindemith. Allen Library [MT40 H66 1970]
Check Status
Fundamentals of Musical Composition
By Arnold Schoenberg. Allen Library [MT40 S37 1970]
Check Status
Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory
By Joseph Straus. Allen Library [MT40 S87 I58]
Check Status
Materials and Techniques of Twentieth-Century Music
By Stefan Kostka. Allen Library [MT40 K86 M38 2006]
Check Status
The Technique of My Musical Language
By Olivier Messiaen. Allen Library [MT40 M58 E]
Check Status
Techniques of the Contemporary Composer
By David Cope. Allen Library Stacks [MT40 C78 T4]
Check Status
Twelve-Tone Tonality
By George Perle. Allen Library [MT40 P45 T 1996]
Check Status
The Twentieth-Century Composer Speaks: an Index of Interviews
By Mari Nishimura. Allen Library Reference [REF ML118 N57 T]
Check Status
See more books about 20th/21st century composition
Periodicals
Websites
IRCAM
Provides access to their online library/archives catalogs; biographical information about contemporary composers; articles and analyses of music; their calendar of events; and useful links.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
Books
|
Periodicals
|
Websites
Books
The Algorithmic Composer
By David Cope. Allen Library [MT56 C78 A5]
Check Status
Audible Design: A Plain and Easy Introduction to Practical Sound Composition
By Trevor Wishart. Allen Library Mixed Media [MX ML3805 W57 A93]
Check Status
The Cambridge Companion to Electronic Music
By Nick Collins and Julio d'Escrivan (eds.). Allen Library [ML1380 C36 E33]
Check Status
Computer Music: Synthesis, Composition, and Performance
By Charles Dodge and Thomas Jerse. Allen Library [ML1092 D64 1997]
Check Status
A Dictionary of Electronic and Computer Music Technology: Instruments, Terms, Techniques
By Richard Dobson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 E4 D6]
Check Status
Electronic and Computer Music
By Peter Manning. Allen Library [ML1380 M28 E33]
Check Status
Microsound
By Curtis Roads. Allen Library [ML3805 R63 M53]
Check Status
New Digital Musical Instruments: Control and Interaction Beyond the Keyboard
By Eduardo Miranda and Marcelo Wanderley. Allen Library [ML1092 W24 N48]
Check Status
See more books on electronic music
Periodicals
Websites
Electronic Music Foundation
Provides information about electronic music concerts, festivals, conferences, workshops, and products. Includes a directory of educational institutions, artists, etc.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
Books
|
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
Books
A Geometry of Music : Harmony and Counterpoint in the Extended Common Practice
By Dmitri Tymoczko. Allen Library [MT50 T95 G4]
Check Status
Harmonic Practice
By Roger Sessions. Allen Library [MT50 S59]
Check Status
Harmony
By Walter Piston. Allen Library Stacks [MT50 P67 H 1987]
Check Status
Harmony and Melody
By Elie Siegmeister. Allen Library [MT50 S57 H37]
Check Status
Tonal Harmony: With an Introduction to Twentieth-Century Music
By Stefan Kostka and Dorothy Payne. Allen Library [MT50 K86 2009]
Check Status
See more books on harmony
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
Books
Books
Behind Bars: The Definitive Guide to Music Notation
By Elaine Gould. Allen Library [MT35 G68 B4]
Check Status
Guide to Standardized Drumset Notation
By Norman Weinberg. Allen Library [MT35 W45 G85]
Check Status
Music Manuscript Preparation
By Mona Mender. Allen Library Reference [REF MT35 M46M]
Check Status
Music Notation in the Twentieth Century: A Practical Guidebook
By Kurt Stone. Allen Library [MT35 S87]
Check Status
New Music Notation
By David Cope. Allen Library [ML431 C78]
Check Status
Notations
By John Cage (compiler). Allen Library Closed Stacks [ML96 C13]
Check Status
Perspectives on Notation and Performance
By Benjamin Boretz and Edward Cone. Allen Library [ML431 B73]
Check Status
See more books about notation
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
Books
|
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
Books
Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: a Translation and Commentary
By Hugh Macdonald. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 B51 G73]
Check Status
Instrumentation and Orchestration
By Alfred Blatter. Allen Library [MT70 B64 1997]
Check Status
Orchestral Combinations: the Science and Art of Instrumental Tone-Color
By Gardner Read. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 R28 O72]
Check Status
The Study of Orchestration. 3rd ed. With 6 CDs.
By Samuel Adler. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 A23 2002 & MD MT70 A23 2002]
Check Status
Textures and Timbres: An Orchestrator's Handbook
By Henry Brant. Allen Library [MT70 B82 T4]
Check Status
See more books on orchestration
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
Books
|
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
|
Find Books on Other Topics
|
Periodicals
|
Websites
Books
Artists & Writers Colonies: Retreats, Residencies, and Respites for the Creative Mind. 2nd ed.
Edited by Robyn Middlen [et al.]. Allen Library Reference [REF NX110 M53 A78]
Check Status
Counterpoint
By Kent Kennan. Allen Library [MT55 K34 1987]
Check Status
Craft of Musical Composition
By Paul Hindemith. Allen Library Stacks [MT40 H66 1970]
Check Status
The Craft of Tonal Counterpoint
By Thomas Benjamin. Allen Library [MT55 B46 T65]
Check Status
The Muse that Sings: Composers Speak About the Creative Process
By Ann McCutchan. Allen Library [ML430 M23 M8]
Check Status
Sonic Design
By Robert Cogan and Pozzi Escot. Allen Library [MT6 C67 A]
Check Status
Browse the Shelves by Call Number
Find Books on Other Topics
Periodicals
Websites
American Composers Alliance
In addition to information about members' services, this site has a searchable composer database and the capability of renting or purchasing scores online.
American Composers Forum
The ACF connects communities with composers and performers. This site includes information and links about programs, chapters, opportunities, composer home pages, and guidelines for various commission deadlines.
American Music Center
The AMC's home page has information about its reference services, referrals, publications, lending library of over 55,000 scores and recordings, artist member home pages, and other relevant links.
Arsis Press: Concert Music by Women Composers
Lists publications and biographical information about many women composers. Includes links to other sites useful to women in music.
ASCAP
ASCAP is one of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources dealing with performing rights and licensing fees.
BMI
BMI is one of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources dealing with performing rights and licensing fees.
National Association of Composers
NACUSA's home page provides information on concerts, competitions, members, announcements & inquiries, and related internet sites.
New Music Box
New Music USA
Information on programs and support for American composers of all kinds of music from this national organization that was created in 1974.
Society of Composers, Inc.
The society's home page contains information about their conferences and performances, publications (including their monthly newsletter), CD series, member websites and email addresses, chapters, etc.
Broader Guides
Related Guides