Competitor Intelligence - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Business and Economics category
Sections in this category:
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.
AMA Management Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HD31 .A418 1994
Annual Statement Studies (RMA)
Mortensen Library Reference HF5681.B2 R6
Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Career Services Shelves HG173 .F55 2007 or Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002
Competitive Alternatives (KPMG)
Detailed comparison of comparative business costs in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Covers 17 industry operations in 11 countries.
Dun and Bradstreet/Gale Industry Reference Handbooks
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .D78 1998
Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Mortensen Library Reference HD9721 .M3495 2003
Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HF5410 .M35
The New Competitor Intelligence: the Complete Resource for Finding, Analyzing, and Using Information About Your Competitors
Mortensen Library Reference HD38.7 .F863 1995
The Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .P82
Researching Private Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HD2771 .H695
Service Annual Survey
United States Government site for Service Industry statistics and information.
Service Industries USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference HD9981.3 .S47 1999
Skeptical Business Searcher: the Information Advisor's Guide to Evaluating Web Data, Sites, and Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HF54.56 .B4685 2004
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Mortensen Library Reference HG4961 .S78 I4
Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and Regional Exchanges
Mortensen Library Reference HG4907 .S72
US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)
The Value Line Investment Survey
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .V26
World Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HD2757.15 .W67
CorpTech Directory of Technology Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HG4057 .C6
Encyclopedia of Associations: an Associations Unlimited Reference: a Guide to More Than 24,000 National and International Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference HS17 .E539
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Covers multinational and national organizations
from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including
U.S.-based organizations with a binational or
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations. Volume 2, Northeastern States.
Mortensen Library Reference HS17 .G334
International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.
Sections in this category:
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Hoovers Company Records
Now a part of Westlaw's Campus Research. Choose either Hoover's Company Profiles or Hoover's Basic Company Reports on the left hand facet. Then Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.
American Marketing Association Marketing Power
American Marketing Association Websit.
The Conference Board
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization
Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
Information for the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs all of which are designed to enhance Connecticut's communities and business and housing environments.
Connecticut Development Authority
Provides debt financing and investment capital to help businesses grow in Connecticut.
The Corporate Library
The American Corporation and the Economy. Includes a searchable library, research tools, and extensive links to more information.
EDGAR Database (SEC)
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.
ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.
Ernst and Young International
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.
Industry Research Desk
Tools to research companies, industries, manufacturing processes
Internet Intelligence Index
Links to sources of competitive intelligence information. Compiled by Fuld and Company, one of the leaders in the field.
IRIN Annual Report Resource Center
View reports online, link to company home pages, request annual report to be mailed. Requires Adobe Acrobat.
Market Research, Industry Research, Business Research
Step by step, annotated guide to the process and information sources involved in doing company or industry research. Includes both WWW and printed information sources.
Public Register's Annual Report Services
Fill out a form to have selected company's annual reports mailed to you. US mail address required.
Society of Competitive Intelligence Professionals
SCIP provides education and networking opportunities for business professionals working in the rapidly growing field of competitive intelligence.