Discusses the causes of acne, who is at risk to have acne, how it is diagnosed, and the treatment options that are available.
A fact book on AIDS and HIV, written for young adults. Explores milestones in the history and treatment of AIDS including new drug therapies.
Alternative Medicine Resource Guide
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .F48 1997
American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004
Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
Provides comprehensive, accessible and authoritative accounts of all the key topics in the field ranging from theories of ageing, to demography, physical aspects of ageing, mental processes and ageing, nursing and health care for older people, the social context of ageing, cross cultural perspectives, relationships, quality of life, gender, and financial and policy provision.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .C65284 2006
Complete Health Resource - UXL
Covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues.
Discusses the symptoms and rapid infection rate, the initial cover-up by the Chinese government, and the response of health care workers and researchers from many nations.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases
Discusses the impact of STDs on individuals and society, the research for new cures and treatments, and methods to prevent the spread of STDs by altering sexual behavior.
State of Health Atlas: Mapping the Challenges and Causes of Disease
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .O3 2008
West Nile Virus
West Nile virus had never been seen in the Western Hemisphere before 1999. Now, it's everywhere in the United States. Find out more about this new health threat and what's being done about it.
Connecticut Municipal Profiles
Mortensen Library Reference HN79.C8 C6
Connecticut State Register and Manual
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4
The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.
The Complete Medicinal Herbal
The complete medicinal herbal
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 O38 1993
Consumer’s Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients: Complete Information About the Harmful and Desirable Ingredients Found in Cosmetics and Cosmeceuticals
Mortensen Library Reference TP983.A55 W57 2005
Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006
Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, the Encyclopedia offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Places, Towns and Townships
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .P58
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans. Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .S84 (1979-1998)
State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Professional and consumer health information. Includes journals, reference sources, web links, pamphlets, etc. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Household Products Database
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformed MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. Full text available.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.
ProQuest Health Management
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Monthly Vital Statistics Report
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.
Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.
Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.
The Commonwealth Fund
Research, publications, and other information from a health care policy group. Includes extensive related links.
The leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Food Safety - CDC
Food-related diseases affect tens of millions of people and kill thousands. Tracking single cases of foodborne illness and investigating outbreaks are critical public health functions in which CDC is deeply involved.
Gero Nurse Online (Geriatric Nursing)
the official geriatric nursing Web site of the American Nurses Association (ANA). It was developed through the Nurse Competence in Aging initiative, to provide information regarding nursing care of older adults.
A gateway to selected federal and nonfederal health information resources. Its intention is to organize and identify reliable consumer-level health information.
Access to consumer health information. Includes section on how to evaluate health information on the internet.
Comprehensive text book on HIV disease. Additional chapters will be posted. Clearinghouse for AIDS related information for practitioners, patients, and others. Includes resources, social issues, state statistics, US map. Searchable.
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.
Patient Survey driven information collected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
Partnership of Aetna with the Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine provides quality consumer health care information including access to articles on various health issues.
Provides free full text access to the Merck Manual and a variety of other sources and products for both the health care professional and consumer.
National Council on the Aging (NCOA)
The NCOA site, free of ads, provides substantive information, especially I n the area of policy and legislative updates. Its many features include adult day services, health care, housing, and independent living.
Freely provides the highest quality health information and education services created and evaluated by faculty at partner universities.
NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
Comprehensive information compiled by the National Institutes of Health, on avian flu and the dangers of a worldwide flu pandemic.
Patient Safety Network (Agency for Healthcare Research Quality)
From an agency of the US Department of Health and Human Services, news and essential resources on patient safety. Includes links to research reports with search or browse capability. Coupled with AHRQ WebMM, a monthly journal with user-submitted cases, expert commentaries and perspectives on patient safety.
PDR.net for Consumers
Huge resource of health-related sources. Free registration. Note: PDR and Stedman's Medical Dictionary require fees.
Website dedicated to "combating health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct" in the Health Sciences and Health Community.
Organization devoted to AIDS prevention in youth. Resources available on this site include a glossary of HIV/AIDS related terms, content in 14 languages, interactive forums, blogs, and personal stories from teens. TeenAIDS.org uses teen volunteers to help promote AIDS awareness and prevention in that age group.
This site provides educational content for patients, health care providers, and health science students. Users may search or browse by topic to find information about anatomy and physiology as well as conditions and diseases.