Mortensen Library Reference P87 .C5974
A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005]
Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference [HC79.C6 G665 2003]
Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HC79.C6 G665 2003
Crusaders, Scoundrels, Journalists: the Newseum's Most Intriguing Newspeople
Mortensen Library Reference PN4871 .C78 1999
Encyclopedia of Television (1997)
With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, and major policy disputes.
Freedom of the Press: a Global Survey of Media Independence
Mortensen Library Reference PN4736 .F742
From Elvis to E-Mail: Trends, Events, and Trivia from the Postwar Era to the End of the Century
Mortensen Library Reference [E741 .D5 1999]
Good Word Guide
Modern communications are breaking down distinctions between formal and informal English, raising ever more questions as to how to speak and write correctly.
Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.
Standard Rate and Data Service Consumer Media Advertising Source
Mortensen Library Reference HF5905 .S725
Television Program Master Index: Access to Critical and Historical Information on 1,927 Shows in 925 Books, Dissertations, and Journal Articles
Mortensen Library Reference PN1992.9 .D56 2003
The Oxford Guide to Library Research
Mortensen Library Reference Z710 .M23 2005
What the People Want from the Press
Mortensen Library Reference PN4888.S6 S55 1997
Dictionary of Visual Discourse a Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
Eurojargon is a comprehensive, easy-to-use dictionary of 'Eurospeak', containing a number of acronyms, abbreviations and other EU-related terms.
Field Guide to Gestures: How to Identify and Interpret Virtually Every Gesture Known to Man
Mortensen Library Reference BF637.N66 A75 2003
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.
Years Covered: 1936-Present
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Note: A number of ERIC database full-text articles are currently unavailable because of some pre-2005 documents having personally identifiable information. ERIC is working to restore access to these documents. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please fill out the Request a PDF form on the ERIC website.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Hoovers Company Records
Now a part of Westlaw's Campus Research. Choose either Hoover's Company Profiles or Hoover's Basic Company Reports on the left hand facet. Then Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
Advertising rates and other information on publications, searchable by title, keyword, or "class." Access to Consumer Magazines and Television. Password available from Mortensen Library Reference. Apply in person. University ID required. Single user only. Be sure to logout/exit before closing browser.
Vanderbilt TV News Archive
Searchable database of abstracts of nightly television news broadcasts. ABC, CBS and NBS are covered since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN is available since 1995. Special broadcast reports covering significant events are included, as are selected broadcasts of ABC Nightline between March 24, 1980 and September 12, 1988 and all Nightline broadcasts since that date. Video of selected CNN broadcasts is available.
Downloading and viewing online video requires setting up a free account.
Video requires RealOne media player (free download available). Users may
borrow tapes of broadcasts by using a credit card.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Information by and about the Council, whose mission since 1942 has been to communicate and stimulate action on selected significant public issues. View recent public service ads, access research sponsored by the Council, etc.
Ad*Access (Duke University)
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.
Center for the Digital Future
A joint project of UCLA's Center for communication Policy and the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern CA, dedicated to research on the structure and impact of mass media and new technology.
First Amendment Center
Information on the "five freedoms" - speech, press, assembly, petition and religion - protected by the first amendment. Includes news, essays, analysis, summaries of Supreme Court cases, etc.
Knight Digital Media Center
Designed to help journalists learn how to do multimedia reporting - combining text, photos, video, audio, web, etc. Includes tutorials on equipment and software, tips, and other guidelines. Joint project of the Graduate School of Journalism, UC Berkeley, and the USC Annenberg School for Communication.
The Online Communicator
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
Sponsored research on the impact of the Internet on American society - children, families, the workplace, government, etc. New reports (full text PDF files) added irregularly.
State of the News Media
Annual report, produced by Journalism.org, analyzing the print, broadcast and online news media in terms of content, audience, economics, ownership, investment, and public attitudes. Includes information on methodology and a bibliography.