The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.
Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
significant number of health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers, includes pronunciations
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.
Encyclopedia of Cancer (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.
Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Professional and consumer health information. Includes journals, reference sources, web links, pamphlets, etc. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.
PolySearch Energy
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.
Cytogenetic and Genome Research
Full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1996 - one year ago. University of Hartford users only.
Genetics
Free, online access to full-text of a peer-reviewed journal. Print available in Mortensen Library. Online coverage is from 1916 - 3 months ago.
genome.gov
Official site of the National Human Genome Research Institute.
USP (US Pharmacopeia)
Searchable database of descriptions, precautions and side effects of over 750 generic drugs. Contains information on standard development for drugs and dosage, accidental poisoning, understanding medications, tampering tips, etc.