Christianity Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Christianity - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Religion category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Atlases | Biographies | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    Book of Bible Quotations
    English Language Quotations from the Bible.

    Critical Terms for Religious Studies
    Essays dealing with all aspects of religion.

    Gutenberg Bible
    Complete digital reproduction of the two copies of the Bible at the British Library. Outstanding enlargements. Historical background.

    Gutenberg Digital
    A complete reproduction of the Gttingen Gutenberg Bible (ca. 1454). Each page can be greatly enlarged. Additional related documents reproduced and information on the history of early printing.

    Hate Crimes
    Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003 Check Status

    Holy Bible, King James (Bartleby.com)
    The culmination of English translations of the Bible, the Bartleby.com publication of the American Bible Societys King James Version features full-text searchability, content-based tables of contents and a quick verse finder.

    The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press
    King James Bible first published in 1611.

    Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
    Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin's theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.


    Atlases

    Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda
    Geographical treatment of the Bible.


    Biographies

    Who's Who in Christianity, Routledge
    Guide to the leading men and women of Christian history.

    Who's Who in the New Testament, Routledge
    Guide to the leading men and women of The New Testament.

    Who's Who in the Old Testament, Routledge
    Guide to the leading men and women of The Old Testament.


    Dictionaries

    Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
    The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference.

    Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
    Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998 Check Status

    MacMillan Dictionary of the Bible
    Quick reference guide to the Bible.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of Religion
    Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

    Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
    Mortensen Library Reference N7830 .F37 1972 (Also have one circulating copy) Check Status


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
    Years Covered: 1900-
    Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

    FindArticles (Look Smart)
    Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Humanities Abstracts
    Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian

    Bible Gateway
    Provides a search apparatus in seven different languages to access biblical terms and passages from six different versions of the Bible.

    Biblical Archeology
    Biblical archaeology site that focuses on the peoples and cultures of the Levant

    Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame
    The most comprehensive collection of images and descriptions of Chartres Cathedral. Over 3000 high resolution images detailing architecture, sculpture, stained glass windows, wall paintings and manuscript illuminations.

    Christian Classics Ethereal Library
    An alphabetical author list of links to hundreds of classic Christian books from the early church fathers to modern fiction and reference titles.

    Guide to Early Christian Documents
    Pointers to files relating to the early church, inclusive of writings by the Apostolic Fathers, Patristic texts, creeds and related documents dealing with the first milennium.

    ORB: On-Line Text Materials for Medieval Studies
    Includes an encyclopedia, resources for teaching, links to other medieval resources, and useful sites for both specialists and nonspecialists.

    Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
    Information concerning the Dead Sea Scrolls.

    Scrolls from the Dead Sea (Library of Congress)
    Selected images from the exhibition Scrolls from the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship can be viewed. The Qumran community, its historical importance, and the impact of the scrolls on contemporary Judaism and Christianity are also examined.

    Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
    Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.


    Broader Guides

    Related Guides

    Ask a Librarian