Chemistry - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Science category
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Online chemistry and biology reference database. Must set up FREE account in order to use.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
Public Library of Science
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.
Science Resource Center
Information on the life, physical, and earth and space sciences from books, journals and reference works. Full text available.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: email@example.com). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)
Link for registration:
Search engine for the sciences and selected social sciences. Includes both web sources and citations from journals indexed by selected databases. Journal citations may include links to full text (where the Libraries subscribe) or to ordering options (credit card required) for full text.
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Sections in this category:
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.
Designed for high school and college biology students, this site has problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry, cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, mendelian genetics, and molecular biology. Some modules are available in Spanish.
CAS Science Spotlight
Bibliographic information about the most frequently requested, "most intriguing," and most cited documents in chemistry and related fields. Includes journals articles and patents.
Job postings, company information, job hunting tips for chemistry and chemical engineering. Sponsored by the American Chemical Society. Optional account set-up.
Chemcases.com: Chemistry of How Things Work (Kennesaw State University)
Case studies of chemistry in consumer products.
Extensive coverage of current and internet based information concerning conferences, data, databases, discussions, history, journals, news, software, projects, teaching, employment, etc.
Digital Ditch Unit Converter
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.
Educational Applets: Chemistry (University of California, Irvine
Simulations to explore scientific principles.
EPA Chemical References
Hazardous substances list with hazard summary, identification, medical hazard, health risks, work place exposure limits, ecological effects, safety, precautions, etc.
Fundamental Physical Constants
Lists of various constants, conversion of units, and Index General chemistry.
Science, engineering, and technology page for best web resources, education, and research.
Martindale's The Reference Desk
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.
Over 1100 molecular models. Search several index to identify and download models. Requires pdb.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Site provides thermodynamic, ion energetics data (Standard Reference Data Program). Search by formula, name, partial formula, CAS registry number.
Organic Chemistry Resources World-wide
Provides Chemical information sources, databases, articles, patents, current books, guides to chemical literature and style guides.
Periodic Table Web Elements (Professional Edition)
Point and click periodic table links to basic chemical information about the elements.
PubChem (National Library of Medicine)
Database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. Search for compound, substance, bioassay, or structure.
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.
The just dedicated spectroscopy portal links to free articles and preprints from peer-reviewed science journals.
Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.
Visual Elements Periodic Table
Provides html and Flash versions of the Periodic Table plus historical information and information about each element.
Index of links to glossaries or dictionaries from various scientific disciplines. Searchable.