Business Administration - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to Business and Economics category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Careers
|
Dictionaries
|
Directories
|
Encyclopedias
|
Statistics
|
Statistics - United States
General Resources
1000 CEOs
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.
AMA Management Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HD31 .A418 1994
Check Status
American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HD4975 .A447 2001
Check Status
Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73
Check Status
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behaviour for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics.
Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Career Services Shelves HG173 .F55 2007 or Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002
Check Status
Career Opportunities in the Automotive Industry
Career Services Shelves HD9710.A2 K46 2005
Check Status
Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.
Check Status
Key Concepts in Public Relations
Provides students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines.
Opportunities in Financial Careers
Career Services Shelves HG181 .S84 2004
Check Status
Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44
Check Status
The Wiley Ultimate Business Library
Summary of resources that have had the most significant impact on management thinking.
Careers
The Best 237 Business Schools
Career Services Shelves HF1131 .G54 2006 and Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .G54 2005
Check Status
Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44
Check Status
Dictionaries
Directories
International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.
Check Status
Encyclopedias
Statistics
The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: the Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers
Mortensen Library Reference HD2769.2.U6 N47 2002
Check Status
Statistics - United States
Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.
Business Insights: Essentials (Formerly Business and Company Resource Center)
Information on companies and industries, including full text articles, financials, analysts' reports, etc.
Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes.
NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
CareerSearch
Find information on potential employers. Includes public, private, not-for-profits, etc. Provided by the University of Hartford Career Center. Password information available from Mortensen Library Reference or Career Services. Apply in person. University ID required. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Checkpoint (RIA)
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.
Emerald Fulltext
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Global Financial Data
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Hoovers Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.
Mergent Archives
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Mergent Online
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.
Uniworld
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.
Westlaw's Campus Research
Westlaw's Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information. Database includes major newspapers, legal research, and United States Laws, Codes and Statutes. NOTE: You must turn of all Pop-up Blockers to properly download and print articles from this database.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Connecticut
General Resources
ABI World: American Bankruptcy Institute
News, statistics, legislation, etc. Regional as well as national coverage of bankruptcy issues.
The Annual Reports Library
Suggestions and advice on how to find and read annual reports. Also, guidance on how to create a good annual report, as well as educational resources and links to related information.
BPlans.com
Searchable collection of sample business or marketing plans, as well as planning tools, how tos, information on financing, etc. Purchase of their software not required.
Business and Management (intute)
Part of an even larger Social Science Information Gateway, this massive list provides carefully selected and annotated links. British slant. Searchable.
Business Women's Network Interactive
The goal of this site is to provide "women with the real tools for financial success." This site serves business women, women entrepreneurs, and companies marketing to professional women with career information, a news and features section, information about conferences, meetings and seminars, updates on publications and a BWN directory.
Business.gov
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.
CIO.com
Information for the Chief Information Officer, or for those aiming for that position. Brief reports arranged in broad categories.
The Conference Board
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization
Drucker Archives (Claremont Graduate University)
Biographical information and a searchable database of materials in the personal papers of the "father of management." Also includes bibliographies of his books and a few articles about Drucker.
ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.
Entrepreneur.com
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.
The Entrepreneurial Center (University of Hartford)
Information about the Center's work to "help people achieve financial independence through self-employment," including lists of courses and workshops. Also links to regional information sources.
Entrepreneurship.org
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.
inc.com
News, advice, online tools, etc. for the entrepreneur, drawn from Inc magazine.
K M Network (Knowledge Management)
Huge collection of research papers, articles, interview, links on knowledge management and intellectual capital.
Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.
Minority Business Development Agency
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.
Resource Library (Smart Pros)
Link to a variety of resources for accounting and taxation.
SCORE: Business Resources
Web links and other information of particular interest to entrepreneurs and small business. Much is valuable for any business research.
Small Business Administration
Information and advice for starting and running a small business. Includes information for non-profits.
Womenbiz.gov
Information and assistance for women-owned businesses seeking to do business with the U.S. government.
Connecticut
Connecticut Technology Council
Resources for technology-based business, including news, directories, and events calendar.
Hartford Economic Development Commission
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.
Broader Guides
Related Guides