Asian History - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to History category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines.
Korean War Reference Library
Covers the Korean War by exploring the major topics and events related to the period. The combined Almanac and Primary Sources covers the background of and issues related to the conflict in 13 chapters
Vietnam War Reference Library
Research the Vietnam War from every angle.
World Eras. Imperial China 617-1644
Provides in-depth coverage of imperial China, 617-1644.
World War II Reference Library
Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
History Resource Center World
Collection of primary and secondary resources from books, journals, documents, etc. Includes photos and videos. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Asian Arts
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.
Asian Studies (Australian National University)
Access to scholarly documents, country studies, and business opportunities in Asian-Pacific societies.
Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade
A cooperative project of the UNESCAP, UNCTAD, the WTO, and trade research and academic institutions from 15 member nations, provides resources for policy makers and researchers on East, South, and Southeast Asia on international trade policy and facilitation.
Bank Information Center
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.
Chinese Cinema Page
Links to English-language reviews and articles on the films of Taiwan, Hong Kong, and the People's Republic of China.
East Asia Library (University of Washington)
Searchable links to area studies categorized by country and subject.
European Voyages of Exploration (University of Calgary)
Thorough multimedia tutorial examining the economic, religious, political and cultural aspects of European exploration in the 15th and 16th centuries.
Indiana University Bloomington Libraries East Asian Collection
Internet resources on Japan, China, and Korea with links to bibliographies and selected journals.
International Institute for Asian Studies (Leiden University)
Searchable documents archive, research information, and links to Asian studies institutes and associations.
National Bureau of Asian Research
Provides analysis of contemporary Asian affairs and policy-related issues.
The National Bureau of Asian Research
Conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia.
Repositories of Primary Resources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
The Wars for Vietnam (Vassar College)
A detailed, well-produced website emphasizing America's involvement in Vietnam. Contains a wealth of primary documents and links to image resources, veteran's organizations, and Vietnamese cultural sites.
Broader Guides
Related Guides