Ancient/Medieval History - Subject Guide
Return to Subject Guide list
Return to History category
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Biographies
|
Dictionaries
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
All things Chaucer an encyclopedia of Chaucer's world
Written for students and general readers, this book includes numerous alphabetically arranged entries, from Abigail to Ypres, on items mentioned in all of his works and references the items to his writings
Ancient Civilizations Reference Library
The ancient civilizations of Iraq, Egypt, India, China, Central America and other regions are the focus of this remarkable contribution to student reference.
Ancient Greece and Rome
Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.
Crusades Reference Library
Covers everything from the First Crusade (1095-99) through the Ninth Crusade (1271-72).
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
Provides a comprehensive overview of the history of the regions of the American continents in which two of the world's first civilizations developed: Mesoamerica (the name for the lands in which ancient civilizations arose in Central America and Mexico) and the Andes Mountains region of South America (in present-day Peru and parts of Bolivia, northern Argentina, and Ecuador).
A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilson
Geographical history of the ancient world.
Gutenberg Bible
Complete digital reproduction of the two copies of the Bible at the British Library. Outstanding enlargements. Historical background.
Gutenberg Digital
A complete reproduction of the Göttingen Gutenberg Bible (ca. 1454). Each page can be greatly enlarged. Additional related documents reproduced and information on the history of early printing.
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
Perspectives on history and culture of the postclassical world.
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Ancient Greek Philosophy But Didn't Know Who to Ask
Brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience.
World Eras. Ancient Mesopotamia 3300-331 B.C.E.
Provides in-depth coverage of ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E.
World Eras. Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.
World Eras. Imperial China 617-1644
Provides in-depth coverage of imperial China, 617-1644.
World Eras. Medieval Europe
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.
World Eras. Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500
Provides in-depth coverage of the rise and spread of Islam, 622-1500.
World Eras. Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.-476 C.E.
Provides in-depth coverage of the Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.-476 C.E.
World Eras. West African Kingdoms 500-1590
Provides in-depth coverage of West African kingdoms, 500-1590.
WorlEras. Ancient Egypt 2615-332 B.C.E.
Provides in-depth coverage of ancient Egypt, 2615-332 B.C.E.
Biographies
Dictionaries
Middle English Dictionary
This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but goes far beyond this, by converting its contents into an enormous database, searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Information on all aspects of archaeology, from pre-history to the present day.
Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World (EHW) is an original electronic project aiming at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space.
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia
Guide to the achievements and legacy of more tham four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world.
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Comprehensive in scope, meticulous in scholarship, and accessible in style to general readers and specialists alike, this encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-1984
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
European History Primary Sources
Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
History Resource Center World
Collection of primary and secondary resources from books, journals, documents, etc. Includes photos and videos. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness.
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Broader Guides
Related Guides
Sections in this category:
General Resources
|
Encyclopedias
General Resources
ABZU (Oriental Institute, University of Chicago)
Outstanding guide to resources emphasizing Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia. Links to archaeological sites, maps, and museum collections.
Ancient Egypt: The Mythology
Detailed, award-winning site devoted to ancient Egyptian religion and mythology.
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations
Detailed resource devoted to ancient Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec and Aztec cultures. Excellent maps and graphic images.
Asian Arts
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.
The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
Provides digital primary documents in political and legal history. A rich and expanding resource which includes Jefferson's presidential papers and letters, the Hague Conventions Laws of War, the Nuremberg Trial Proceedings and much more.
BibArch
Biblical archaeology site that focuses on the peoples and cultures of the Levant
Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet (Fordham University)
Exceptional website for Byzantine Studies, with bibliographic guides, teaching resources, visual archives, and primary documents. The list of links is an unparalleled resource in itself. Indispensable.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
An alphabetical author list of links to hundreds of classic Christian books from the early church fathers to modern fiction and reference titles.
CORSAIR: The Online Research Resource of the Pierpont Morgan
Over 5,000 excellent images from medieval and Renaissance manuscripts with accompanying descriptions.
Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
Access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Diotima: Women and Gender in the Ancient World (University of Kentucky)
Exceptional resource on women in the ancient world, with searchable links on feminist theory and criticism, bibliographical sources, and downloadable visual images.
Egyptology Resources (University of Cambridge)
Excellent resource for the study of ancient Egypt. Comprehensive links to archaeological sites, visual materials, and museum collections.
End of Europe's Middle Ages (University of Calgary), The
Detailed resource on late European Medieval history summarizing the economic, political, religious and intellectual environment of the fourteenth and
EuroDocs (Brigham Young University Library)
Links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Impressive resource on the Medieval world with an extensive list of full text sources, maps, graphic images, music.
Intute: Religion and Theology
An extensive annotated list of Internet resources for the study and teaching of theology. Includes clusters of links relating to biblical studies, the history of theology, contemporary theology, religions and denominations, among others.
The Islamic World to 1600 (University of Calgary)
Extensive multimedia introduction to early Islamic history emphasizing political, administrative and religious issues.
Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.
Medieval Feminist Index (Haverford College)
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages.
The Medieval Page: Sources for Medieval Studies on the WWW
Annotated links to websites on largely Western Medieval topics. Organized by subjects, including literature, religion, philosophy, art, history, women's and gender studies. From art history scholar, Adrienne DeAngelis.
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.
ORB: On-Line Text Materials for Medieval Studies
Includes an encyclopedia, resources for teaching, links to other medieval resources, and useful sites for both specialists and nonspecialists.
Secrets of Lost Empires
This website is an exploration of the "long-forgotten secrets of early architects and engineers." The five sections, Medieval Siege, Pharaoh's Obelisk, Easter Island, Roman Bath, and China Bridge, each contain a Hot Science Topic. Teachers' resources are available.
Theban Mapping Project
Frequently updated reports on the KV5 Tomb project, as well as excellent historical resources on ancient Egypt. Superb graphic images, bibliographies, extensive links.
Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.
Voice of the Shuttle
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.
Voice of the Shuttle: Archaeology Page
Comprehensive server includes general resources, works, sites, projects, museums, historical preservation, journals and more.
World Art Treasures
The J.-E. Berger Foundation extensive slide database currently devoted to the art of J. Vermeer, Renaissance Gardens, S. Botticelli, Roman portraits from Egypt and much more.
Encyclopedias
Broader Guides
Related Guides