American Music Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
hdr_library_spring.jpg
Academics About Admission Visiting Campus Student Life Libraries Alumni Public Purpose News Arts & Events Athletics Giving
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
    •  

    American Music - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Music category
    Printer-friendly version

    Composer's Voices from Ives to Ellington: an Oral History of American Music
    By Vivian Perlis and Libby Van Cleve. Allen Library Stacks [ML390 P47 C65] Check Status

    An Introduction to America's Music
    By Richard Crawford. Allen Library Stacks [ML200 C73 I58] Check Status

    Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present
    By Robert Lissauer. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P67 L5] Check Status

    New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 vols.
    Edited by H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML101 U5N] Check Status

    Women Composers and Music Technology in the United States: Crossing the Line
    By Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner. Allen Library Stacks [ML1380 H55 W65] Check Status

    Top of Page


    Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

    ML200
    Music - United States

    Top of Page


    Search below titles here to find complete library holdings.
    Journal Title:
    Format:         

    American Music

    American Music Research Center Journal

    Institute for Studies in American Music Newsletter

    Journal of the Society for American Music

    Top of Page


    Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

    African Americans - Music

    Composers - United States

    Music - United States

    United States - Music

    Top of Page

    Sections in this category: General Resources | American

    General Resources

    American Music Center
    The American Music Center has merged with Meet the Composer to form New Music USA.

    American Music Resource
    Reference information about all styles of music indigenous to the Western Hemisphere. The collection houses over 800 bibliographies, lists, and files, and is indexed by topic (genre and style subdivisions) and subject (individuals - mostly composers).

    A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
    Library of Congress resources on African-American expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.

    H. Wiley Hitchcock Institute for Studies in American Music
    This internationally recognized center for American music publishes a semiannual publication and a series of monographs, serves as an information center, and sponsors conferences and symposia dealing with all areas of American music. Offers fellowships to scholars and composers.

    New Music Box

    Top of Page

    American

    Afrocentric Voices
    This site includes research centers and collections featuring or including a significant portion of material by or about African American musicians.

    American Folklife Center, The Library of Congress
    Site includes full texts of selected publications, digital presentations of collections, a growing list of links to other resources in ethnographic studies, the Folklife information service, and the Folklife Sourcebook: A Directory of Folklife Resources in the United States.

    American Roots Music
    This PBS site explores Blues, Country music, Bluegrass, Gospel, Cajun, Zydeco, Tejano, and Native American music. The site includes oral histories and information about the musicians, their instruments, and the music.

    Archives of African American Music and Culture
    Repository of materials at Indiana University covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era for study and research. Online publications include Black Grooves and Liner Notes.

    Music of the Southwest
    This site is down as of 16-Jan-2017. Site includes text, audio, and video organized by instrument, musicians, ethnic group, and musical genre.

    Top of Page

    A-Z Site Index | Contact Us | Directions | Hours | Privacy | Overview | Site Search
    University of Hartford | 200 Bloomfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06117
    University Libraries © 2015 | 860.768.4264