African American Lives
Mortensen Library Reference E185.96 .A446 2004
Check Status
African American Women Playwrights: A Research Guide
Mortensen Library Reference PS153.N5 G29 1999
Check Status
African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003
Check Status
An African Biographical Dictionary
An African Biographical Dictionary provides a wealth of vital information for students of African culture and is an indispensable reference guide for anyone interested in African affairs. Also in print, Mortensen Library Reference DT18 .B76 1994
African-American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945
Mortensen Library Reference NA736 .A47 2004
Check Status
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Mortensen Library Reference DT14 .A37435 2005
Check Status
Black Women in America
Mortensen Library Reference E185.86 .B542 2005
Check Status
Civil Rights in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 C47 2000
Check Status
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Check Status
Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
Mortensen Library Reference E169.1 .E624 2001
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 E574 2000
Check Status
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full three volumes of the 2nd edition (2000) encyclopedia which presents lengthy essays on ethnic and ethnoreligious groups, including holidays, customs, languages, historical background, settlement patterns, etc. Also provides extensive listings of organizations, research centers, periodicals, etc. and of further readings. UofH only.
Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.
Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.
The Official Guide to Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 R8 1996
Check Status
Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 H417 2000
Check Status
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Founders Early Access
The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Historical Hartford Courant
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.
Historical New York Times
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..
Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology
In the First Person
Detailed index to oral history and other first person content, including oral histories, letters, diaries, memoirs and autobiographies that are freely available by following links. Also links to subscription content (not available to UH) Limited content scheduled for regular expansion.
ProQuest Newspapers
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
ProQuest Newspapers
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- , including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A collection of 52 works by African American women reproduced digitally by the Schomburg Center of the New York Public Library. Included are poetry, fiction, biography, autobiography and essays. Searchable by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text.
African-American Sheet Music, 1850 -1920
This collection (searchable by subject, composer, publisher, illustrator, and title) provides access to digital images of 1,305 pieces of sheet music at Brown University dating from 1850 through 1920.
Africans in America
This site is a searchable history of slavery in the United States, featuring images, historical documents, biographies, and contemporary and modern commentaries. Teacher's guide included.
AFROameric@: The Afro-American Newspapers Homepage
Features weekly news updates, news archives, cultural and historical information of interest to the African-American community. Excellent links section with Real Audio for music and speeches.
Afrocentric Voices
This site includes research centers and collections featuring or including a significant portion of material by or about African American musicians.
Archives of African American Music and Culture
Repository of materials at Indiana University covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era for study and research. Online publications include Black Grooves and Liner Notes.
Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.
The Black Press: Soldiers without Swords
Companion to a PBS film. Includes historical information on Black newspapers, biographies of Black journalists, a timeline, and links to more sources.
A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
Library of Congress resources on African-American
expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.
Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia
The mission of the museum is to "promote racial tolerance by helping people understand the historical and contemporary expressions of intolerance".
Minority Business Development Agency
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.
This Far by Faith: African-American Spiritual Journeys
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) series that "examines the African-American religious experience through the last three centuries. ... [it] explores the connections between faith and the development of African-American cultural values." Features essays, a timeline, profiles, audio and video clips, show transcripts, and related links.
The Underground Railroad
With a time line, classroom ideas, and links to other resources, this website explores the options for slaves in America - taking the chance for freedom on the Underground Railroad or staying on the plantation.
Voices from the Gaps (University of Minnesota)
Biographical and bibliographical articles on women writers of color from throughout the US. Searchable in several ways including by ethnic/racial identity.