Actuarial Studies Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Actuarial Studies - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Business and Economics category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Careers | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
    Mortensen Library Reference HD4973 .A67 (have 2001 and 2015 editions) Check Status

    Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73 Check Status

    Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
    Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002 Check Status

    Petersons MBA Programs
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status


    Careers

    The Best 296 Business Schools
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition) Check Status

    Petersons MBA Programs
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status


    Dictionaries

    BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
    Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

    Collins Dictionary of Business
    Business reference covering business theory and practice.

    Dictionary of Business
    Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

    Dictionary of Financial Engineering
    Terminology of risk management.


    Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.


    ABI/INFORM Complete
    Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    BNA Tax Management Portfolios
    The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

    Cabell's Business College Set
    The College/Library/Business Set includes the Cabell's Directories in Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management and Marketing. Professors and graduate students in Business frequently use the Cabell's Directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts. Also, administrators and accrediting committees use them to evaluate publication records. Contains articles and other information on a myriad of Business topics.

    Checkpoint (RIA)
    Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

    Emerald Fulltext
    Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

    FindArticles (Look Smart)
    Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

    Global Financial Data
    LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Mergent Archives
    Years Covered: 1909-2010
    Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

    Mergent Online
    Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

    Worldwide Tax Summaries (Pricewaterhouse-Coopers)
    A key reference tool for all tax practitioners. It draws on the breadth and depth of expertise offered by PwC, and gives you quick access to information about the corporate and individual tax systems in over 150 countries worldwide, in an easily digestible format.


    Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics- United States

    General Resources

    The Conference Board
    Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

    Gloria-Mundi
    Comprehensive source on one method of financial risk management.

    Mortgage Loan (Business Calculators)
    Online business calculators for mortgages, other loans, CD and investments, debt and credit, tax, retirement, etc. Very handy free services from the Mortgage Loan company.

    Riskinstitute.ch (IFCI)
    Watch (International Finance and Commodities Institute) - Introduction and guide to key concepts in financial risk management. Includes links to regulatory documents and a glossary. International.


    Statistics- United States

    Federal Reserve Board Statistics
    Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually released data from the Fed, gathered in one place. Selected historical statistics also available.