Accounting and Taxation Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
  • Services
  • User Information
  • Get Help
  •  

    Accounting and Taxation - Subject Guide

    Return to Subject Guide list
    Return to Business and Economics category
    Printer-friendly version
    Sections in this category: General Resources | Careers | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

    General Resources

    ACH Rules: A Complete Guide to Rules & Regulations Governing the ACH Network
    Mortensen Library Reference HG2321 .A28 (University Affiliated patrons may get online Password from Mortensen Reference Office) Check Status

    AICPA Code of Professional Conduct
    The AICPA Code of Professional Conduct has been updated for all Official Releases through June 2008.

    AICPA Professional Standards
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5667 .A523 2012 (3 volumes) Check Status

    Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73 Check Status

    Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
    Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002 Check Status

    CPA Exam: An Introduction to the Exam, Test Taking Tips, and past examination questions with solutions
    Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves HF5661 .C656 2000 (Ask at Mortensen Circulation Desk) Check Status

    Handbook of Accounting and Auditing
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5635 .H22 1997 Check Status

    Lambers CPA Review - Auditing and Attestation, v.3
    CPA resource.

    Lambers CPA Review - Business Environment & Concepts, v.4
    CPA resource.

    Lambers CPA Review - Financial Accounting and Reporting, v.1
    CPA Review Resource

    Lambers CPA Review - Regulation, v.2
    CPA resource.

    Leading United States Supreme Court State Tax Cases: Official Syllabi, Notes, and Indices
    Mortensen Library Reference KF6736 .L43 1994 Check Status

    Petersons MBA Programs
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status

    Schaums Outline of Theory and Problems of Intermediate Accounting I
    Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 E54 2007 Check Status

    Schaums Outline of Theory and Problems of Intermediate Accounting II
    Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 .E55 2007 Check Status

    Schaums Outline of Theory and Problems of Tax Accounting
    Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 M67 1980 Check Status

    Social Security Handbook
    Basic Guide to the Social Security Programs

    Wiley GAAP 2012: Interpretation and Application of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5616.U5 W55 2012 Check Status

    Wiley Practitioner's Guide to GAAS 2016: Covering All SASs, SSAEs, SSARSs, and Interpretations
    Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves HF5616.U5 W558 2016 and Mortensen Library Reference HF5616.U5 W558 2013 and Mortensen Library Shelves HF5616.U5 W558 2012. Check Status


    Careers

    The Best 296 Business Schools
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition) Check Status

    Petersons MBA Programs
    Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition) Check Status


    Dictionaries

    Black's Law Dictionary
    Mortensen Library Reference KF156 .B53 Check Status

    Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .B54 Check Status

    BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
    Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

    Collins Dictionary of Business
    Business reference covering business theory and practice.

    Dictionary of Accounting
    Terminology relating to accounting and taxation.

    Dictionary of Accounting and Auditing: 10,000 + Terms Currently Used in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .D53 Check Status

    Dictionary of Business
    Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

    The New Penguin Business Dictionary
    General business terminology.

    Wall Street Lingo thousands of investment terms explained simply
    Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007 Check Status


    Encyclopedias

    Accountants' Handbook
    Mortensen Library Reference HF5621 .A22 Check Status

    Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Accounting
    Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 Check Status

    Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
    Reference information of business.

    Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

    Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

    Encyclopedia of Taxation and Tax Policy
    Mortensen Library Reference HJ2305 .E53 Check Status

    West's Encyclopedia of American Law
    Search the full text of the 13 volume, 2005 edition of this comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of American law and the legal system. UofH only.


    ABI/INFORM Complete
    Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

    Academic Search Premier
    Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

    BNA Tax Management Portfolios
    The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

    Cabell's Business College Set
    The College/Library/Business Set includes the Cabell's Directories in Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management and Marketing. Professors and graduate students in Business frequently use the Cabell's Directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts. Also, administrators and accrediting committees use them to evaluate publication records. Contains articles and other information on a myriad of Business topics.

    Checkpoint (RIA)
    Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

    Credo Reference
    Search over 550 full text online reference titles in a wide variety of subjects and online reference types, incl. Bibliographies, Atlases, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Statistics, and speeches. All individual titles are listed in the Library Catalog.

    Emerald Fulltext
    Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

    FindArticles (Look Smart)
    Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

    Global Financial Data
    LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

    Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

    Mergent Archives
    Years Covered: 1909-2010
    Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

    Mergent Online
    Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

    Worldwide Tax Summaries (Pricewaterhouse-Coopers)
    A key reference tool for all tax practitioners. It draws on the breadth and depth of expertise offered by PwC, and gives you quick access to information about the corporate and individual tax systems in over 150 countries worldwide, in an easily digestible format.


    Sections in this category: General Resources | Connecticut | Statistics | Statistics- United States

    General Resources

    1040.com
    Tax information for ordinary people. Includes both state and federal information, and a collection of links to more.

    AccountantsWorld
    Free online registration. Information, links and data on Accounting across the web.

    AICPA Online
    Publications and other information from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

    American Accounting Association
    News, educational materials, research, publications by and about the profession, etc.

    BNA Tax Management
    Information on the latest US tax changes. Subscriber access available for valid University of Hartford users.

    BusinessUSA.gov
    One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

    CPA Links (AICPA)
    Gateway to accounting-related sites, maintained by the AICPA.

    CPANet
    Large collection of links for the accounting profession. Arranged in subject categories. Also links to news of interest.

    Deloitte: International Tax and Business Guide
    International tax information for over 126 countries.

    Entrepreneurship.org
    Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

    Ernst and Young International
    Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

    Essential Links to Taxes
    "Online resources to taxpayer tips and information"

    Financial Accounting Standards Board
    Information from and about FASB, including downloadable documents.

    Find Accounting Software
    Free site that allows a business to search for and locate the best software available for their accounting needs.

    Minority Business Development Agency
    Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

    Mortgage Loan (Business Calculators)
    Online business calculators for mortgages, other loans, CD and investments, debt and credit, tax, retirement, etc. Very handy free services from the Mortgage Loan company.

    Resource Library (Smart Pros)
    Link to a variety of resources for accounting and taxation.

    Section on Taxation: Other Related Sites
    Maintained by American Bar Association. Emphasis is on links to tax law sites at the federal and state level.

    Securities Class Action Clearinghouse (Stanford Law School)
    Regularly update information on class action lawsuits related to securities fraud. Includes full text of briefs, filings, etc. related to the suites.

    Start Here, Go Places
    The American Institute of Public Accountants created this free site to connect students interested in business and accounting to career sites, scholarships, internship opportunities and colleges.

    Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
    Includes federal, state and international tax information, links to accounting firms, associations, etc. Maintained at the University of Northern Iowa.

    Tax Links
    Searchable database of IRS rulings since 1954. Also provides links to outside sources of additional US tax information.

    Tax Me if You Can
    Based on a PBS Frontline broadcast on corporate tax shelters. Includes link to related Marketplace (NPR) broadcasts.

    Tax World
    More than tax code. Check "Tax Policy and Comments" for discussion of issues.

    US Securities and Exchange Commission
    Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

    Will Yancy's Home Page
    Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.


    Connecticut

    State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services
    State tax forms (download and print using Adobe Acrobat) and other information.


    Statistics

    Will Yancy's Home Page
    Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.


    Statistics- United States

    State Tax Collection Data by State
    Summary information on tax revenues of the 50 state governments, as well as D.C. Annual since 1992.