statistics Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | United Kingdom | United States

General Resources

Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary
Modern world geography.

Philip's World Factbook
Data on each country in the world.


United Kingdom

Annual Abstract of Statistics - Great Britain (1859-1981) (Access varies)
Statistical Abstract of the United Kingdom.

Annual Abstract of Statistics - Great Britain (2002-present)
Statistical Abstract of the United Kingdom.


United States

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .A37 Check Status


ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.



Sections in this category: General Resources | International | United States

General Resources

The Gallup Organization
Public opinion polls and selected special reports. The archive of polls back to March 1997 is arranged chronologically.

Harris Poll Current Releases
Summaries of weekly polls by Louis Harris. Current year arranged by date, previous by category.

HomeTownLocator Gazetteer
Provides location information as well as census information for local areas in the U.S. and territories with links to maps and aerial photos. Browse or search.

HyperStat Online Statistics Textbook
Hypertext book on introductory statistics. Includes links to related sources.

Odum Institute for Research in Social Science
Social science information and statistics.

Polling Report.com
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.

Princeton University Survey Research Center
Survey findings, resources, practice, centers, etc.

Search Systems
Links to free databases with public records such as property assessments, incorporation records, Uniform Commercial Code Filings, etc. Browse by state and locality.

Social Science Data Analysis Network
The Social Science Data Analysis Network makes the latest US census surveys and demographic trends accessible to educators, policy makers, the media, and students at all levels.

Statistical Abstract of the US
Statistics on social, economic and international subjects. Separate links for most popular data. Most tables require Adobe Acrobat. Data back to 1878 edition available.

Statistical Assessment Service (STATS)
Organization that analyzes, reviews and critiques press reporting and use of statistics. Includes link to online journal of research on the topic.

VassarStats
Link to pages that perform various statistical operations. Note also link to "Concepts and Applications of Inferential Statistics," a companion webtext.


International

Central Statistics of Ireland
Links to sources of statistics in Ireland, Europe, the Americas, Africa, Asia or the Pacific.


United States

County and City Data Books
Access to the electronic versions of the 1944 to 2000 Data Books.