cinema Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Biographies

General Resources

Chambers Film Factfinder
Collection of information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.

A Companion to Television
Mortensen Library Reference [PN1992.5 .C615 2005] Check Status


Biographies

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930
Collection profiling many of the women who were crucial in the development of cinema as an industry.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Websites

General Resources

Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves [PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009] Check Status

Great Jobs for Theater Majors
Mortensen Library Reference [PN2074 .G66 2005] Check Status


Websites

Academic Info: Film Studies Gateway
Searchable directory of current college and research level internet resources, with priority given to digital collections and sites with unique content. Includes theory, genre study, world film, and film history sites.


ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

AFI Film Catalog of Feature Films
Authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011, as well as AFI Awards Outstanding Movies of the Year from 2000 through 2010.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.

Communication Complete (Comm. Abstracts and Comm. and Mass Media Complete)
Years Covered: 1936-
Combines the searching for Communication and Mass Media Complete with Communications Abstracts in one complete search screen. Unlock the best Communication information for ease of use.

C-SPAN Video Library
Links to government and public service broadcasts by C-SPAN since 1987

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Film Literature Index
Years Covered: 1976-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1976-2001).

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Wonderful links to everyone and everything connected with over 170,000 films.

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of more than 90,000 authors, poets, journalists and other writers. Search by name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Provides access to essays in the literary themes. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Selected full text available.

Media Education Foundation (MEF) Media Studies & Communication Collection (Kanopy)
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentaries about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. This site streams full-length films about gender studies and the media.

MLA Bibliography
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Current Periodicals


Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

General Resources

Bright Lights Film Journal
Well-reviewed online journal, formerly a print publication, describes itself as a "popular-academic hybrid" and offers interviews, profiles, analysis, criticism, and history of all types of film. Searchable archives.


Current Periodicals

American Cinematographer

Cahier du Cinéma

Journal of Film and Video

Millennium Film Journal

Sight and Sound

Trafic



Sections in this category: General Resources | Film Reviews | Reference

General Resources

American Memory Collections: Motion Pictures (Library of Congress)
Background information, essays, stills, biographies and bibliographies for each. Plug-in needed to view full movie.

Black Film Center/Archive: Internet Resources
Links to sites dealing with African-Americans behind the camera, as well as in front of it.

Chinese Cinema Page
Links to English-language reviews and articles on the films of Taiwan, Hong Kong, and the People's Republic of China.

Drew's Script-O-Rama
Called the most comprehensive screenplay site in cyberspace. Cheeky, flip, it offers links not only to full text scripts and drafts of the planned film, but also to transcripts of what actually made it to the screen. Television and animated works included.

Film Bibliographies: Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley
Bibliographies of paper and electronic film study resources, arranged by filmmaker, topic, genre, national cinema, or film title. Also, free full text articles from the journals Cineaste and Jump Cut, as well as student papers.

Film Sound History
Featured are a list of relevant links for film sound.

FilmSound.org
Forum on all aspects of film sound, with articles on individual films, technology, history, animation, theory, and film music.

Masters of Cinema
Emphasizes articles on foreign films and directors such as Tarkovsky, Ozu, Bresson, and Dreyer. Excellent links to other writings on directors, critics, and movements.

Metacritic Film
For each foreign, independent or mainstream American film in recent release, this site provides links to about 30 full text reviews in major U.S. publications.

MovieFlix.com
See more than 1200 films free, online. Includes classics, independent films, documentaries, and works by pioneering African American filmmakers. Registration required.

Museum of Modern Art Circulating Film & Video Library
Established in 1935 to collect films that illustrate the historic and artistic development of motion pictures and to establish the medium as a major art form, the Circulating Library initially included a circulating collection available to colleges, museums, and other educational institutions. The Circulating Library also provides the unique service of offering access to works by important independent filmmakers, works that would otherwise not be readily available.

The Online Communicator
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

PhotoDisc: Royalty Free Stock Photography
Image database. Basic or Power (Boolean or natural language) search by keyword or concepts. Thumbnail images can be saved, enlarged, purchased. Uses Virage technology to find visual matches by color, composition, texture, etc.

ScreenSite
Stresses links to research tools on film and television; reviews, online journals, bibliographies and more.

UCLA E-Resources
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
Links to a multitude of resources on performers, directors, films and such special topics as film noir and the holocaust.


Film Reviews

Movie Review Query Engine
Web-accessible reviews of over 26,000 films. The extensive list of reviews for each film come from worldwide sites ranging from the personal to those of the mainstream and scholarly media.

Women's Studies Database: Film Reviews (University of Maryland)
Full-text of reviews and interviews, mostly by L.L. McAlister, a radio commentator, and C. Fuchs, a college professor.


Reference

All Movie Guide Glossary
Search for definitions of a broad array of film-related terms or browse by subject category.