Visual Communication Design Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003 Check Status

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001 Check Status

Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves [PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009] Check Status

Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006 Check Status

Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002] Check Status

Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science
The definitive reference in computer science and technology.

Encyclopedia of Television (1997)
With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, and major policy disputes. Check Status

Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004 Check Status

Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online Check Status

Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004 Check Status

Webster's New World Computer Dictionary
Clear and concise definitions for a significant number of up-to-date computer terms.

Women Artists and Designers in Europe since 1800: an Annotated Bibliography
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .M33 1997 Check Status

World Design: the Best in Classic Furniture, Fashion, Graphics and More
Mortensen Library Reference NK1166 .W67 2000 Check Status


Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996 Check Status

Dictionary of Communications Technology: Terms, Definitions and Abbreviations, Wiley
Invaluable one-stop reference for IS professionals, consultants and engineers.

Dictionary of media and communication studies
Basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. Also have 8th edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [P87.5 .W38 2000]

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009 Check Status

Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NK1165 .W66 2004 Check Status

A Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .W66 2004 Check Status

Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users
One-stop reference for developers and users.

Prentice Hall Graphic Communications Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference Z118 .L96 2000 Check Status

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900
This comprehensive guide embraces all aspects of modern design: graphics, products, interiors, furniture and industrial and architectural design.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
Provides information about typographers, journals, movements and styles, organizations and schools, printers and private presses, art directors, technological advances, design studios, graphic illustrators and poster artists. Also have older print copy in Mortensen Library Shelves [NC997 .L54 1998]


Encyclopedias

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Mortensen Library Reference HF5500.2 .D57 Check Status

Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising
Mortensen Library Reference HF5803 .C59 2005 Check Status

The Design Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference NK1370 .B93 1994 Check Status

Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Mortensen Library Reference NK1165 .E48 1997 Check Status

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content - from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials - is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.

Encyclopedia of New Media: an Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Mortensen Library Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003 Check Status

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000 Check Status

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference P92.U5 H55 1998 Check Status

International Encyclopedia of Communications (Blackwell)
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .I58 2008 Check Status

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers
A comprehensive guide to international developments in graphic design.

The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of Graphic Design and Designers
Mortensen Library Reference NC997 .L54 1998 Check Status

World Press Encyclopedia: a Survey of Press Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference PN4728 .Q53 2003 Check Status


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ArtBibliographies Modern
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.

Communication Abstracts
Years Covered: 1936-Present
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Communication Complete (Comm. Abstracts and Comm. and Mass Media Complete)
Years Covered: 1936-
Combines the searching for Communication and Mass Media Complete with Communications Abstracts in one complete search screen. Unlock the best Communication information for ease of use.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

FedFlix (US Government produced Film Database)
Featuring the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Film & Television Literature Index
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Film Literature Index
Years Covered: 1976-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1976-2001).

Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

IEEE Xplore
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

Media Education Foundation (MEF) Media Studies & Communication Collection (Kanopy)
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentaries about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. This site streams full-length films about gender studies and the media.

Oxford Art Online
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

ProQuest Computing
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
Advertising rates and other information on publications, searchable by title, keyword, or "class." Access limited to Consumer Magazine Media and Local Media by DMA (Designated Market Areas).

Web Urbanist
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
An electronic journal of 19th century visual culture.


abc typography
A virtual museum of typography.

Ad*Access (Duke University)
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in US and Canadian newspapers and magazines, 1911-1955. Main subject areas: Radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

AIGA: The Professional Association for Design
AIGA, the professional association for design, is committed to advancing design as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force.

Center for Social Media
Showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with publics to address the problems that they share.

Counterspace
A website dedicated to typography and its history.

Designinform Research Guides
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
9000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the USA. Search across all or within individual categories. Timeline.

Human-Computer Interaction Lab (University of Maryland)
Links to research and information on human-computer interaction.

Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa

The Virtual Museum of Education Iconics
This site features images and interpretive texts concerning the iconic representations of instruction in the Western world down through the ages.

Visual Resources Association
multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments. The Association is committed to providing leadership in the visual resources field, developing and advocating standards, and offering educational tools and opportunities for the benefit of the community at large.