Sports and Fitness Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Biographies | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008 Check Status

Awareness through Movement: Health Exercises for Personal Growth
Mortensen Library Shelves [RC489 F44 F44 1990] Check Status

Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry
Career Services Shelves GV734.F545 F54 2010 Check Status

Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
Provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity. It discusses the guidelines for physical activity in people of all ages and diverse fitness levels, including those with disabilities, chronic diseases, or other challenges

Intercollegiate Athletics Status of Efforts to Promote Gender Equity : Report to the Honorable Cardiss Collins, House of Representatives
National Report on Gender Equity to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1997.

Key Concepts in Leisure Studies
Provides a student-friendly guide to the key debates in leisure studies.

Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences
This book seeks to serve as a reader-friendly source of Key Concepts in five of the main areas of study in sport and exercise courses: biomechanics, exercise physiology, pedagogy, psychology and sociology

Key Concepts in Sports Studies
Written by experienced academics use to teaching the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies.

Martial Arts of the World
Carefully crafted entries on the history, pilosophy, and evolution of the martial arts worldwide, including contemporary practice.

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status


Biographies

The Wisden Archive of Cricketers' Lives
Biographies of the cricketers of yesteryear.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

Free Medical Journals
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

International Triathlon Union
Official web site of the International Triathlon Union. Site has photo galleries, news, events, biographies, and statistics.

National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
The Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum web site includes recent headlines, baseball history links, and a virtual tour of the museum, as well as an online research library.

NCAA - National College Athletic Association
The official web site of the NCAA includes association news, information for Division I, II, and III categories, links regarding academics and athletics, and legislation and governance.

Play it Safe! - A Guide to Sports Injuries
Helpful site regarding information on and cautions for therapy and care of sports related injuries.

Presidential Youth Fitness Program
Web site for the Presidential Youth Fitness Program. The site is divided into age categories with special features for children, teens, adults and seniors to help them with their fitness goals. Features include activity logs.

Sports-Reference.com
Portal to providing top notch statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere.

US Olympic Team
The official web site of the U.S. Olympic Team. Includes news, events, biographies of athletes, and information on winter and summer sports.

USA Swimming - U.S. Olympic Swim Team
official web site of the U.S. Olympic Swim Team and the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming. Site includes news, forums, chats, events, statistics, and information for swimmers, coaches and clubs.

USA Track and Field
Official web site of the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running, and race walking. Includes news, events, history of the sport, statistics and records, and athlete biographies.

USA Triathlon
Official web site for USA Triathlon, the Governing Body for the sport in the United States. Includes event information and schedules, rules, rankings, regional clubs and information on duathlon and aquathlon events.

WWW Virtual Library
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.