Special Education Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | United States - Statistics

General Resources

Alternative Teacher Certification Procedures and Professional Development Opportunities for Career and Technical Education Teachers
PDF Full Text of document.

Alternative Teacher Certification: A State-By-State Analysis
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves LB1771 .F45 (Latest); (Earlier) Mortensen Library Shelves LB1771 .F45 Check Status

Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance
The world's foremost 'experts on expertise' review our scientific knowledge on expertise and expert performance and how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of their development, training, reasoning, knowledge, social support, and innate talent.

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011 Check Status

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
Essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world.

Including Your Child
Booklet designed for parents of disabled children, birth through age 8. Appendices provide agency resources.

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
Research tool to academics, researchers and students interested in the field of giftedness and talent.

Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
For practitioners working with children from birth to the end of the foundation stage, and for students following courses in early childhood education.

Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Report of the Legislature on the Principal Findings from the Epidemiology of Autism in California (2002)
This State of California report of 2002 is one of the most important studies conducted on the increased incidence of Autism Spectrum Disorders. Includes bibliography.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

Students with Disabilities in Postsecondary Education: A Profile of Preparation, Participation, and Outcomes
This statistical analysis report offers a comprehensive profile of students with disabilities enrolled in postsecondary education. It examines preparation for postsecondary education, explores how the students fared in school, and looks at early labor market outcomes and admission rates to graduate schools. PDF file; loads slowly.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .D483 2015 Check Status

Early Intervention Dictionary: a Multidisciplinary Guide to Terminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV891 .C63 2006 Check Status


Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
Mortensen Library Reference LC4007 .E53 2002 Check Status

Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
A comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs from AAMR, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION ON MENTAL RETARDATION to ZYGOSITY.


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011 Check Status


ABI/INFORM Complete
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


ADDA National Attention Deficit Association
Information on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Includes basic material; treatment information, research, ADD and school, family issues, career and work, and legal issues.

Asperger Syndrome, from Autism Speaks
This description and guide to Asperger Syndrome from the website Autism Speaks discusses diagnosis, services and support, and advocacy options for people with Asperger Syndrome.

Assistive Media: Expanding the World of Reading
Audio tape source for The New Yorker and works of fiction and nonfiction for handicapped individuals. Links to other audio sites including C-SPAN's Booknotes and the History Channel's Great Speeches.

CHADD: Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder
This site provides information on disability issues, online fact sheets of strategies for dealing with ADD, and links to documents from the US DE. Membership and chapter information also available.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

The Deaf Resource Library
Online collection of reference material and links intended to educate and inform people about deaf culture as well as deaf and hard of hearing related topics.

Described and Captioned Media Program (DCMP)
This site provides a catalog for over 4,000 free-loan open-captioned films and videos, along with captioning information and assistance, and ordering instructions. Films include a wide variety of subject areas, searchable by keyword and subject.

Disability Information and Resources
This directory of resources for the disabled includes links to fact sheets about spinal cord injuries and disabling conditions, books, resources for equipment, support groups, travel information, and government sources.

EverythingESL
This attractive site is a nice resource for any teacher with second language students. It offers teaching tips with classroom activities and a select annotated list of books, CD-ROMS, and Websites.

Great Schools: A Parent's Guide to Helping Kids with Learning Difficulties
SchwabLearning.org is primarily designed for parents of children with learning differences (LD). Practical aids for parents are presented. Some information is provided in Spanish.

LD OnLine
Billing itself as "an interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers, and children," this site presents a wealth of information on the various types of learning disabilities and their treatments.

National Center for Homeless Education
This site provides information and links to help educators, service providers, and families ensure that children and youth experiencing homelessness have access to educational opportunities and success in the classroom.

NCIP - National Center to Improve Practice in Special Education Through Technology, Media and Materials
Provides information, resources, and links relating to technology and special education, and on-line workshop registration information.

The New York Institute For Special Education
Clearinghouse for information in multiple areas regarding special needs, including educational resources.

Recording for the Blind & Dyslexic
Resources for blind and dyslexic people, useful for University community and student teachers.

Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI)
A collection of Internet accessible information resources for those in the fields related to special education.

State Director of Special Education
Lists state contacts for special education needs, including address, telephone number, and email address.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
Division TEACCH provides general information about autism, an overview of different educational and communication approaches, as well as information on research and professional training opportunities

UDL Connect, National Center on Universal Design for Learning
Presented by the National Center on Universal Design for Learning, UDL Connect offers community membership, original research, and links to resources on curricular development for equal opportunities in learning.

Wrightslaw
This site provides parents, educators, and attorneys with advocacy information and special education law for children with disabilities. It provides the texts of case laws, statutes, and federal regulations, including the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).