Sections in this category:
United States - Statistics
Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011
Key Concepts in Education
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.
Provides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks, such as buying insurance, constructing a budget, reading graphs, adjusting cooking recipes or planning for retirement.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001
Encyclopedia of Education
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.
Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002
United States - Statistics
Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011
Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
AMS - MathSciNet
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.
ProQuest Education Journals
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Sections in this category:
American Mathematical Society Website
Official website of the American Mathematical Society
Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.
MAA Online (The Mathematical Association of America)
Official website of The Mathematical Association of America. Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.
MacTutor History of Mathematics
Easily searchable biographies of mathematicians, chronologies, essays, bibliographies, web links, and an index to famous curves.
Math.Net Links to the Mathematical World
Collection of mathematical resources and links to subjects. Pointers to information resources, scientific computing, mathematical institutions
Mr. R.'s Songs for Teaching (YouTube)
A YouTube channel filled with songs about math and science geared toward 3rd through 5th graders.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Official website of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.
Comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia.