Respiratory Therapy Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004 Check Status

Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008 Check Status

Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
Provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity. It discusses the guidelines for physical activity in people of all ages and diverse fitness levels, including those with disabilities, chronic diseases, or other challenges

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012 Check Status

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001 Check Status

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status

The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics

General Resources

AirNow
Contains information about air pollution and its effects on health.

AllAllergy.net
Resources on allergies, asthma, and food intolerance.

Environmental Diseases from A to Z
Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.

H1N1 Searchable Information Center
Regularly updated web site on current information regarding the H1N1 influenza.

Indoor Air Quality
Information on common sources and health effects of indoor pollution.

SearchMedica
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.


Statistics

Health United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.