Prosthetics and Orthotics Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012 Check Status

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001 Check Status

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008 Check Status

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

IEEE Xplore
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

Free Medical Journals
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics

General Resources

Human Anatomy Online
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.


Statistics

Health United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).