Sections in this category:
Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers
Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century.
Biographical Dictionary of Transcendentalism
This is a comprehensive guide to the major and minor figures who shaped Transcendentalism in New England, particularly between 1830 and the Civil War.
Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers
Provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one. Covering philosophers as well as cultural and scientific thinkers - such as Foucault, Darwin, Einstein and Freud - who have had a major impact on philosophy.
The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
The most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of philosophy available in English.
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Alien abductions, bleeding trees, crop circles, phantom funerals and mysterious showers of fish all feature in this uniquely wide-ranging and balanced guide to unexplained phenomena.
Dictionary of Existentialism
Provides, through alphabetically arranged entries, brief overviews of the tenets, philosophers, and writers of existentialism.
Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
Coverage includes not only key figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic itself, but issues in related, overlapping disciplines such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics as well.
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan
Immensely useful handbook for the student of philosophy
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.
Philosophy of Science A-Z
Concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science from A priori/a posteriori to Elie Zahar.
Political Philosophy A-Z
Guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Makes a broad range of richly varied philosophical, ethical and theological traditions accessible to a wide audience.
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy
Covers the most important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
Presents articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity.
Encyclopedia of Empiricism
Essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating the topic as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers. Also in print Mortensen Library Oversized [BJ63 .E45 2001]
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion
Biographical information is given about each with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Promoted as the first dynamic encyclopedia. Each entry is maintained and kept timely by subject experts who have direct electronic access to their assigned entries. This very popular source of the most recent philosophical inquiry includes the most current bibliographical citations