Percussion Music Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Afro-Latin Rhythm Dictionary
By Thomas A. Brown. Allen Library Reference [REF ML437 B88 A4] Check Status

Analytical and Bibliographical Writings in Percussion Music
By Geary Larrick. Allen Library Stacks [MT90 L37 A52] Check Status

Dictionary of Percussion Terms as Found in the Symphonic Repertoire
By Morris Lang and Larry Spivack. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 L36] Check Status

Encyclopedia of Percussion
Edited by John H. Beck. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 B4 2007] Check Status

Handbook of Percussion Instruments
By Karl Peinkofer. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 P] Check Status

Percussion Anthology: A Compendium of Articles from "The Instrumentalist" on Percussion Instruments
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4] Check Status

Percussion Ensemble Literature
By Thomas Siwe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 S57 1998] Check Status

Percussion Instruments and their History
By James Blades. Allen Library Stacks [ML1030 B63] Check Status

Percussion Solo Literature
By Thomas Siwe. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 S57 1995] Check Status

Percussion Work Book
By Maggie Cotton. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 C68] Check Status

Percussion: An Annotated Bibliography
By Dieter Bajzek. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 B35] Check Status

Percussionist's Dictionary: Translations, Descriptions, and Photographs of Percussion Instruments from Around the World
By Joseph Adato. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 P4 A] Check Status

A Percussionist's Guide to Orchestra Excerpts
By David W. Vincent. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P4 V5] Check Status

Planet Drum: A Celebration of Percussion and Rhythm
By Mickey Hart and Frederick Lieberman. Allen Library Stacks [ML1035 H37] Check Status

Teaching Percussion
By Gary Cook. Allen Library Stacks [MT655 C66 1997] Check Status



Sections in this category: General Resources | Concertos


Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

General Resources

M146
Solo Drum [including Timpani, Side drum, etc.]

M147
Solo Bells, Glockenspiel, etc.

M175
Solo other [Xylophone, Marimba, Vibraphone, etc.]

M284 - M285
1 percussion instrument and piano

M298 - M299
Duets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M385 - M386
Trios which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M390
Percussion trios

M485 - M486
Quartets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M490
Percussion quartets

M685 - M686
Sextets which may include 1 or more percussion instruments

M685, M690-692
Percussion sextets

NOTE:
For Quintets, Sextets, Septets, Octets, Nonets use same pattern as Quartets, for instance:


Concertos

M1038 - M1039
Percussion instrument with orchestra

M1039.4 - M1139.4
Other percussion instruments [Xylophone, etc.]

M1138 - M1139
Percussion instrument with string orchestra



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

International Musician

Medical Problems of Performing Artists

Modern Drummer

Overseas Musician

Percussionist

Percussive Notes

Percussive Notes, Research Edition



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Concertos percussion

Concertos timpani

Percussion and . . .

Percussion ensembles [for 2 or more percussionists, each playing 1 or more percussion instruments]

Percussion music [for 1 percussionist playing 2 or more different percussion instruments]

Percussion trios; trios
[Follow for quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

Percussion with . . .

Sonatas timpani

Timpani music [for 1 percussion instrument]


Drum Workshop
Specific information about instruments and their care.

Drummer's Web
With an extensive collections of ads and a growing list of articles, this page also has links to many different sites about all styles of drumming.

Percussive Arts Society
Home page for the PAS.