Sections in this category:
Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001
If the Paintings Could Talk
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.
Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.
Familiarizes the modern viewer with some of the best or most intriguing examples of Western narrative painting.
National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Reference [NX280 N3 2008] and more online
National Gallery companion guide
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only
The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996
A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.