Nursing Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004 Check Status

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012 Check Status

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001 Check Status

Key Concepts in Nursing
An access point to the key concepts in nursing and the issues involved in employing them in practice.

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007 Check Status

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

One Hundred and One Careers in Nursing
Mortensen Library Reference RT82 .A15 2003 Check Status

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008 Check Status

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status

The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing
Provides more depth and covers a greater variety of topics than pocket dictionaries.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Genetic Terms: Talking Glossary
Recorded audio clips elaborate on the words' pronunciations and meanings. Check Status

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Mosby's Emergency Dictionary
Definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008 Check Status

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .E534 2007 Check Status

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

Nursing DataView - National League for Nursing
Searchable resources for Nurses.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

Arthritis Research and Therapy
Free online journal from July 1999 - present. Focuses on research on arthritis and treatments and therapies for arthritis.

Free Medical Journals
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations

Genome Research
Free, full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1997 - six months ago.



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics

General Resources

AIDS Info
Free NIH site dealing with issues concerning AIDS, it's prevention, alleviation of symptoms and discussions concerning the disease.

Allnurses.com
Directory of links that provide a wealth of information to the professional nurse.

American Nurses Association
The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.

Autism Information Center
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Center for Disease Control
Resources on diseases, health risks, prevention, guidelines and strategies information.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Drugs@FDA
A database listing most brand name and generic drug products approved by the Food and Drug Administration since 1939, including prescription and over-the-counter human drugs currently approved for sale in the U.S., as well as discontinued drugs.

The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
Transcripts and audio of the acclaimed series segments.

genome.gov
Official site of the National Human Genome Research Institute.

H1N1 Searchable Information Center
Regularly updated web site on current information regarding the H1N1 influenza.

Healthfinder
A gateway to selected federal and nonfederal health information resources. Its intention is to organize and identify reliable consumer-level health information.

Hospice Net
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.

Hospital Compare
Patient Survey driven information collected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Human Anatomy Online
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.

Johns Hopkins ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides
Delivers comprehensive, reliable and timely sources of information for ABX, HIV/AIDS, and Diabetes care providers.

Merck
Provides free full text access to the Merck Manual and a variety of other sources and products for both the health care professional and consumer.

National Council on the Aging (NCOA)
The NCOA site, free of ads, provides substantive information, especially I n the area of policy and legislative updates. Its many features include adult day services, health care, housing, and independent living.

National Institute of Nursing Research
This government institute supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the life span. The site presents research information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women's health, and older adults

OBGYN.net
Comprehensive, peer reviewed, international resource for professionals in obstetrics and gynecology, the medical industry, and the women they serve.

Vesalius
A detailed collection of anatomical images and surgical techniques.

Visible Human Project
Digitized images of male and female human cadavers which are scanned using CAT and MRI techniques.


Statistics

HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
Easy access to national statistics on hospital stays. Searchable by diagnostic or procedure, then by outcome or other measure to generate statistics.

Health United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.