Music Writing and Research Guides Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | APA | Chicago/Turabian | MLA

General Resources

Music Research: A Handbook (Citation Examples)
by Laurie J. Sampsel.
Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML113 S25 M87 2020]
Has appendixes with citation examples for Turabian/Chicago, MLA, and APA. Check Status

Notes Style Sheet
Documents style and citation decisions made by editors of the Music Library Association's journal Notes. Addresses many issues associated with musical works or writings. (The older version of the style sheet allows you to search across categories.)

Writing About Music: A Style Sheet, 3rd Edition
By D. Kern Holoman. Allen Library Writing Center [ML3797 W68 2014]
Helpful for citing or referring to musical titles or terminology. Check Status


APA

APA (online guide at Purdue)
A guide for quick reference. Consult the APA book for the most detailed questions.

APA: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition (the book)
Allen Library Writing Center [BF76.7 P83 2010] Check Status


Chicago/Turabian

Chicago Manual of Style (full online version)
Widely used style guide that can help answer advanced citation and style questions. Has searchable full text, a useful Q&A, and a citation guide summary. To see a table of contents (once your are in the web site), just click the title. A print version is also available.

Chicago Manual of Style (brief online guide at Purdue)
A guide for quick reference. For more detailed questions, consult the full online version of CMS, or the full print CMS book.

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition (book)
Allen Library Writing Center [Z253 U69 2017]
Use this resource to answer advanced citation and style questions. (Turabian was derived from CMS.) Check Status

Citing Music Sources
Created by the Music Library of the University of Western Ontario, this useful online guide adapts Turabian style to music resources.

[Turabian] A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th Edition
by Kate L. Turabian.
Allen Library Writing Center [LB2369 .T8 2013]
Turabian is derived from the Chicago Manual of Style above. Check Status


MLA

MLA (online guide at Purdue)
A guide for quick reference. Consult the MLA book for the most detailed questions. (This site covers the newer MLA 8th edition.)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Edition (the book)
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves [LB2369 .G53 2009]
Allen Library Writing Center [LB2369 G53 2009]

This is the older version of MLA. The newer version (the 8th edition) is very different, so both remain available for now. Check Status

MLA Handbook, 8th Edition (the book)
Allen Library Writing Center [LB2369 G53 2016]

The newer 8th edition changes MLA's citation rules. "Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format. . . . [Now] MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any source."--Back cover. Check Status

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Allen Library Writing Center [LB2369 G53 M53 2008] Check Status


Abbreviations in Oxford Music Online
Includes foreign-language abbreviations and brief definitions.

Common Terms used in German Publications and Thematic Indices
Terms are defined according to their usage in music publications; other definitions are also possible. Has pointers to other resources. From Yale.

Glossary of Bibliographic Information by Language
This site is down as of August 2015. List of foreign-language terms used in publishing, including German, French, Italian, Spanish, and more.

Library Acquisition of Music (has a glossary)
Michael Fling. Allen Library [ML111 F62 L53]
Defines terms frequently found in publisher and thematic catalogers. Includes pointers to other resources. Check Status

Music Library and Research Skills (has a glossary)
By Jane Gottlieb. Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML3797 G65 M87]
Has a "Selected Glossary of German Terms" on pages 325-329. Check Status

Music Research: A Handbook (has a glossary)
by Laurie J. Sampsel.
[REF] Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML113 S25 M87 2020]
Has a glossary (pp. 284-293) that includes foreign-language terms commonly used in research materials and scholarly editions. Check Status

Sourcebook for Research in Music. 3rd ed. (has glossaries)
By Allen Scott; Phillip Crabtree and Donald Foster, founding editors.
Allen Library Reference [REF ML113 C73 S76 2015]
Includes glossaries for bibliographical, German, and French terms (pp. 1-14). Check Status


Music Research: A Handbook
Laurie J. Sampsel. Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML113 S25 M87 2020]
Introduces music students to the major print and electronic research tools. For undergraduates and graduate students. Convenient appendixes give citation examples for Turabian, MLA, and APA. Check Status

Music Library and Research Skills
By Jane Gottlieb. Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML3797 G65 M87 2016]
Introduces the concepts of music research sources and how they can be best used. Especially useful for graduate students. Check Status

A Guide to Library Research in Music
By Pauline Shaw Bayne. Allen Library Writing Center [REF ML3797 B39 G8] Check Status

A Handbook for Preparing Graduate Papers in Music
By David J. Boyle, Richard K. Fiese, and Nancy Zavac. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML3797 B68 H35] Check Status

How to Write About Music: the RILM Manual of Style
By James R. Cowdery. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML3797 H68] Check Status

Irvine's Writing about Music
By Demar Irvine. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML3797 I72 1999] Check Status

Library Research Guide to Music
By John E. Druesedow. Allen Library Stacks [ML111.D79] Check Status

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 6th ed.
By Kate L. Turabian. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES LB2369 T87 1996] Check Status

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 2nd ed.
By Joseph Gibaldi. Allen Library Reserves. [PERM RES LB2369 G53 M53 1998] Check Status

Music Manuscript Preparation: A Concise Guide
By Mona Mender. Allen Library Reference [REF MT35 M46 M] Check Status

A Short Guide to Writing About Music
By Jonathan Bellman. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML3797 B45 S46] Check Status

Sourcebook for Research in Music. 3rd ed.
By Allen Scott; Phillip Crabtree and Donald Foster, founding editors.
Allen Library Reference [REF ML113 C73 S76 2015] Check Status

Words and Music: Form and Procedure in Theses, Dissertations, Research Papers, Book Reports, Programs, Theses in Composition
By Eugene E. Helm and Albert T. Luper. Allen Library Reference [REF ML3797 H49 1982] Check Status

Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide. 4th ed.
By Richard Wingell. Allen Library Reserves [PERM RES ML3797 W56 W75 2009 ] Check Status