Multimedia Web Design and Development Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

Computer Graphics Companion
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .E53 2001 Check Status

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .D36 2000 Check Status

A Glossary of Netspeak and Textspeak
Mortensen Library Reference QA76.15 .C79 2004 Check Status

International Encyclopedia of Communications (Blackwell)
Mortensen Library Reference P87.5 .I58 2008 Check Status

Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004 Check Status

Newton’s Telecom Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference TK5102 .N49 2013 Check Status

Prentice Hall Graphic Communications Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference Z118 .L96 2000 Check Status


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Computing (Collins)
Guide to the language and jargon of computing.

Dictionary of media and communication studies
Basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries. Also have 8th edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [P87.5 .W38 2000]

Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users
One-stop reference for developers and users.

Webster's New World Computer Dictionary
Clear and concise definitions for a significant number of up-to-date computer terms.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Computer Science
The definitive reference in computer science and technology.

History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference P92.U5 H55 1998 Check Status


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.

AMS - MathSciNet
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.

ArXiv e-print Archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.

Communication Complete (Comm. Abstracts and Comm. and Mass Media Complete)
Years Covered: 1936-
Combines the searching for Communication and Mass Media Complete with Communications Abstracts in one complete search screen. Unlock the best Communication information for ease of use.

Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Computing
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.

Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

ScienceResearch.com
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

DMTCS: Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical Computer Science -
"A high standard peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to rapid publication of innovative research which favors the intersection of these two fields." Includes abstracts and full text of articles from issues back to 1997.



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Computer sound processing


AIGA: The Professional Association for Design
AIGA, the professional association for design, is committed to advancing design as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force.

Alternative Viewpoints on the Internet
Huge annotated list of sources of information outside the mainstream media.

Center for the Digital Future
A joint project of UCLA's Center for communication Policy and the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Southern CA, dedicated to research on the structure and impact of mass media and new technology.

Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility
Information from an organization looking at the social and ethical impacts of information and communication technologies. See especially "Resources" for full reports and useful links.

Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Collection of information about published research. Updated monthly. Some citations link to full text of papers. Search or browse.

Computer Science (University at Albany Libraries)
Annotate links to valuable sources of computer science information. Arranged in broad categories. Some available only to University at Albany students.

Computing Research Repository
Access to e-prints in all areas of computer science. Joint project of ACM, Los Alamos e-print archive, and National Computer Science Technical Reference Library. Browse or search pages, some as far back as 1993.

Ghostsites: The Museum of E-Failure
Screen shots from failed websites, memorializing the dot bomb. Recent additions are followed by a long alphabetical list with one or more links.

Human-Computer Interaction Lab (University of Maryland)
Links to research and information on human-computer interaction.

LivingInternet.com
Information about the Internet, WWW, email, chats, etc., including history, how-to, discussions of importance and security issues, etc. Also links to Internet news sources.

National Center for Women and Information Technology
Promotes women's involvement in IT by providing links to information about training, books, news articles, speakers, etc.

The Online Communicator
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies
Links to a multitude of resources on performers, directors, films and such special topics as film noir and the holocaust.