Medicine Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004 Check Status

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .C65284 2006 Check Status

Headaches
Discusses traditional and alternative headache treatments, the challenges of living with headaches, and the direction of future research.

Healing Power of Chinese Herbs and Medicinal Recipes
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 H68 2004 Check Status

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012 Check Status

Herbs, Spices, and Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference SB107 .H47 1986 Check Status

Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology.

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007 Check Status

Medicine, Health, and Bioethics: Essential Primary Sources
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Mesothelioma: From Discovery to Treatment
This short ebook offers insight into the history of mesothelioma, current treatment options, and the prognosis for patients.

The Natural Pharmacy
Mortensen Library Reference RZ440 .N354 1999 Check Status

PDR for Herbal Medicines
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 P37 2007 Check Status

PDR for Nonprescription Drugs
Mortensen Library Reference RM671.A1 P48 Check Status

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008 Check Status

Psychedelic medicine: new evidence for hallucinogenic substances as treatments
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves (Ask at Circulation Desk) RM315 .P7423 2007 Check Status

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status

The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.

Understanding Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference RS164 .H276 2005 Check Status

World of Microbiology and Immunology
Addresses current ethical, legal and social issues with special emphasis given to biological warfare and terrorism. Topical and biographical entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

The Complete Medicinal Herbal The complete medicinal herbal
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 O38 1993 Check Status

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Dictionary of Mind and Body: Therapies, Techniques and Ideas in Alternative Medicine, the Healing Arts and Psychology
Mortensen Library Reference BF168 .W37 1996 Check Status

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Mosby's Emergency Dictionary
Definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know.

Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
Covers the gamut of pharmaceutical medicine from drug discovery, development, trials, regulatory approval and marketing.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Cancer (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as ethics and the law, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.

Gale Encyclopedia of Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Reference Guide
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .L477 1997 Check Status

Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Reference Guide
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .L477 1997 Check Status

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Human Diseases and Conditions
Mortensen Library Reference RC81.A2 H75 2000 Check Status

Human Diseases and Conditions
Mortensen Library Reference RC81.A2 H75 2000 Check Status

Medical Encyclopedia Index
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.



Use these subject headings to search by general topic in our Library catalog. Copy the subject heading into the search box and use the drop down menu to search by "Subject". There are many more possible subjects than what we have listed here, but these should get you started.

Medical Subject Headings
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Statistics

General Resources

AIDS Info
Free NIH site dealing with issues concerning AIDS, it's prevention, alleviation of symptoms and discussions concerning the disease.

AllAllergy.net
Resources on allergies, asthma, and food intolerance.

American Medical Association
Dedicated to improving the health of Americans.

Annual Reviews
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Human Anatomy Online
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.

Images from the History of Medicine
Approximately 60,000 scanned images from the collection of the National Library of Medicine.

Merck
Provides free full text access to the Merck Manual and a variety of other sources and products for both the health care professional and consumer.

NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

SearchMedica
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.


Statistics

Health United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).