Medical Technology Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias

General Resources

Directory of Schools for Alternative and Complementary Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .D59 1998 Check Status

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012 Check Status

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009 Check Status


Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Dictionary of Medical Terms
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
More entries and better definitions than any other medical dictionary.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
significant number of health-care terms, including abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers, includes pronunciations

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008 Check Status

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013. Check Status

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
Up-to-date reference work for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.



Below are call number ranges for areas within this topic. Use these call numbers to browse the library shelves when you have a general idea of what you want, but don't have a specific item in mind.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Updated daily.


Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.