Academic Search Premier
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.
Applied Science and Technology Index
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.
Energy Citations Database
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.
FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.
Proquest Science Journals
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: email@example.com). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions: SciFinder Instructions (PDF)
Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.
Search for manufacturers or distributors by product and by state. Lists over 440,000 companies.
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and
scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences:
a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA,
IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving,
information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board,
job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.