Sections in this category:
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
Coverage of novelists, poets, playwrights, and their works embraces both the established classics of English literature and a wealth of contemporary figures from all over the English-speaking world.
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.
The Companion to African Literatures
Mortensen Library Reference PR9340 .C65 2000
Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.
German Poetry in Song: an Index of Lieder
By Lawrence D. Snyder. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 S57 & Suppl]
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.
History of South African Literature
A critical study of South African literature, from colonial and pre-colonial times onwards.
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
Post Colonial Literature resource.
South African Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN771 D52 v.225
Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN771 .D52 (pt.1:v.117; pt.2:v.125; pt.3: v.157)
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.
Dictionary of Italian Literature
Entries on Italian writers, periods, literary movements, and versification, and on critical problems related to literary history. Also have older print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [PQ4006 .D45 1979].
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Comprehensive resource on Latin American Literature.
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Comprehensive resource on British Literature.
Encyclopedia of German Literature
A large number of entries on writers, individual work, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on literatures in English worldwide.
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
This comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.
Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature
Mortensen Library Reference PN841 .I74 2004