Library and Information Science Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Sections in this category: General Resources | Dictionaries

General Resources

Careers for Bookworms and Other Literary Types
Career Services Shelves Z471 .E25 2009

The Oxford Guide to Library Research
Mortensen Library Reference Z710 .M23 2005 Check Status


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Information and Library Management
Terminology of information and knowledge management


FindArticles (Look Smart)
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Internet Public Library
ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. To date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Abstracts only.

PRIMO - Peer Reviewed Instructional Materials Online
Promotes and shares peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments.



Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

Charleston Advisor
Years Covered: 1999-

Charleston Advisor
A peer-reviewed publication that reviews proprietary and free Internet resources that libraries license and make available to their patrons. The journal's tag line is "Critical reviews of web products for informational professionals." It is published quarterly and was established in 1999.


American Library Association Copyright Issues
In depth information on copyright from the American Library Association.

European Library
Search the combined holdings of national libraries across Europe. Includes both print collections and digital "Treasures." Simple Search looks at only a selection - choose appropriate collections for additional information.

Federal Library Depository Directory
Searchable directory of Depository Libraries - those with extensive, official collections of federal government documents.

Global Networking: A Timeline
Chronology - from cave paintings to IRC - of technological milestones in communications. Includes references and extensive bibliography.

A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
This site serves to inform about current issues in copyright that affect the musical community.

Hartford Public Library
Holdings, news, etc. from the largest public library in the area.

HOMER: University of Connecticut Libraries Catalog
Search the holdings of libraries at all UCONN campuses.

iConn (Connecticut Library Resources)
Links to free resources to CT residents.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
Search or browse by category through web sites selected by public librarians for quality and accuracy.

Libraries Online
Links to libraries in the US and Canada. Several different entry points.

Library Definitions - University of Hartford
Definitions of key terms used by the University of Hartford Library.

Library of Congress Catalogs
Browse or search using several options. Also provides links to additional library catalogs.

Library of Congress Classifications
First letters and the corresponding general subjects for the main classes of the Library of Congress Classifications used at the University of Hartford Libraries.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (Library of Congress)
Searchable database of cataloging records for manuscripts held in collections around the U.S.

NLM Locator Plus
Search the catalog of the National Library of Medicine. Also links to Medline.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
Search the catalogs, archives, inventories, research collections, etc. of 20 museum and gallery libraries.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

World's Largest Libraries
Annotated links to the home pages of libraries around the world.

WWW Virtual Library
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.