Library Tools- encyclopedias Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
General encyclopedia.

The Columbia Encyclopedia
General encyclopedia.

The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Information about Science, Technology, Geography, Politics, and the Arts

The Macmillan Encyclopedia
General Encyclopedia.

Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia of History and Innovation
This book is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference ever published on the wide range of martial arts disciplines practiced in cultures around the world.

Philip's Encyclopedia
General Encyclopedia.


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Basic encyclopedia with brief information about a broad range of topics. Full text. Check Status


Canadian Encyclopedia
Perfect starting point for all things Canadian.

Encyclopedia.com
Search or browse for short factual articles. Extensive cross references and links to additional sources (some of which charge fees).

How Stuff Works
Illustrated explanations of how things work in the world around us. Clear and easy to understand.

Infoplease.com
Search for or browse for information from Information Please Almanacs, a dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Includes extensive biographical information. Special daily features.

Library of Economics and Liberty
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.