Sections in this category:
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.
An Atlas of the Universe
Maps of the Universe, arranged according to distance from Earth, as well as extensive links to related sites and a glossary. Nine major maps link to related maps and descriptions.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Growing collection of digitized maps, focusing on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. Search or browse.
Search for or browse for information from Information Please Almanacs, a dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Includes extensive biographical information. Special daily features.
Google Maps world gazetteer contains maps and much more regional specific information, including history and tourist information.
Street level maps for fifteen European nations as well as the US and most of Canada. Put in an address and go.
Maps, driving directions, trip planning, etc.
Martindale's The Reference Desk
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.
National Geographic Map Machine
Terrific site for geography classes. Maps are from the NGS 1995 atlas. General information about each country or state includes area, population, flag, religion, language, and other demographic data.
Interactive site for mapping data for the entire United States.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Browse or search The New York Public Library digital collection of 275,000 images (more coming) from primary sources and printed rarities, including illuminated manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and photographs ephemera, illustrated books, etc.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Links to electronic maps arranged by region. Includes both current and historical maps. Collection maintained by Univ. of Texas.
UC Atlas of Global Inequality (Univeristy of CA, Santa Cruz)
Searchable database and maps looking at the interaction between globalization and inequality (mortality, economics, health issues, etc.). Includes glossary and bibliography.
Link to world and historic maps, and to information on map making.
Atlas of Canada
The Atlas of Canada Web site will provide the most interesting, dynamic and comprehensive collection of maps and related information about Canada available anywhere on the Internet, with effective and intuitive tools for users to access them.
Provides location information as well as census information for local areas in the U.S. and territories with links to maps and aerial photos. Browse or search.