Journalism Subject Guide - University Libraries, University of Hartford
 

Key Concepts in Radio Studies
Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.


Communication & Mass Media Complete
Abstracts and selected full text of journals, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc. Includes material from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as additional sources.

Communication Abstracts
Years Covered: 1936-Present
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Communication Complete (Comm. Abstracts and Comm. and Mass Media Complete)
Years Covered: 1936-
Combines the searching for Communication and Mass Media Complete with Communications Abstracts in one complete search screen. Unlock the best Communication information for ease of use.

Media Education Foundation (MEF) Media Studies & Communication Collection (Kanopy)
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentaries about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. This site streams full-length films about gender studies and the media.



Sections in this category: General Resources | Current Periodicals


Search both electronic and paper volumes to find complete library holdings.

Journal Title:
Format:         

General Resources

Quill Online
An online journal by the Society of Professional Journalists.


Current Periodicals

American Journalism

Columbia Journalism Review

Journalism History


FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting
Media watch group's site offering analysis on media bias and censorship issues. Includes full text articles, broadcast transcripts, related web links.

The Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Studies of attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Includes summaries of recent poll findings, and a library listing older reports available for purchase.

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
News on legal actions involving freedom of the press, as well as reports on the topic. Also provides guides on how to access public records, privacy rights, ect.

Society of Professional Journalists
A group/society dedicated to encouraging a climate in which journalism can be practiced more freely and fully, stimulating high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism and perpetuating a free press.